Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2002-08-12 - 11:32 a.m.

Monday�s must be the day that needy folks descend on my lab. I have been open for a half an hour now, and I don�t think that there has been a single person that was able to use the computer without my personal guidance. Sigh�If you don�t know how to use the damn thing, why don�t you come and take my FREE fucking classes, instead of wasting my time with the same question day after day. Sigh�I am here to teach you, not to do it for you�

I have noticed a disturbing trend in people today. Folks are unwilling to learn something on their own, especially if there is someone to do the work for them. You give a person a task that involves applying what they have learned, problem solving, or a similar task, and they either cannot or will not do it. It is as if these folks are riding on the evolutionary progress of the folks around them. Problem solving is considered a sign of higher thinking, which leaves me wondering if these folks are truly capable of higher thought. Ok I know that sounds mean�but Fucking A! I had 6�6 fuckers, all who shut down their computers and then claimed that they �just turned off�. But see I watched every one of them click on the start button, and when the shut down window appeared, they don�t bother to ready the alert message, they just click on the ok button. And DUH, the computer turns off. Of course they look at the thing like it is possessed. Sigh�ok this is getting me nowhere.

In other news�Oh for Christ�s sake�Here I go back to that same rant again. My co-workers are just as bad. Computer 2 has been down for 6 days now. Why? Cause the monitor has �been on the fritz�. I would cut in and out, and then just quit. I look at it, and plug the thing back in. Sigh�.

Where was I? Oh yeah, other news. The SHO will be back on the road this week. I can hardly wait. 3 months of waiting is finally coming to an end. Thank God. I am looking forward to having the car back, if for no other reason than I can start traveling again. I will keep ya posted as things develop at the garage.

This last weekend found me wandering around Busch Gardens with Caitlin and the folks across the street. It was fun. See Caitlin and I have been to this park many times, while my neighbors have never been there. We started things off with the Loch Ness, which is my favorite Roller Coaster out there. Guess it has to do with the history that we share. It was the first �Big� coaster that I have ever ridden. And one year in particular my buddy Paul and I rode it by our selves (it was the middle of the week, cold, and drizzly) 5 times straight, never having to get out of our seats. In fact run 2-5 we were the only folks on the whole train. Kinda strange sitting in the very last seat and looking at the �ghost train� ahead of ya, with not a soul on it. Any how it was that same day right before we headed for home that we rode Nessy again. This is where the fun really began. As Paul and I were rolling out of the station, he and I noticed that our shoulder harnesses didn�t lock correctly. If you lifted up on them they would open half way! I tell ya, that was an exiting ride. The two of us holding on to our harnesses for dear life, hoping that we would not be ejected from the train. Looking back on it, I don�t think that could have happened, but when you are speeding around that track�well it is a whole different story. After roaming the park for a bit I found myself in front of one of those strong man games. You know, the ones that you have to hit the thing with a hammer to ring the bell. Well this one was electronic, but the same idea. So I pick up the hammer line things up and Whack! Bell was rung! Now the nice girl told me the first swing was practice, and this time if I rung the bell I would win. So, knowing how these games are rigged, I lined up my shot again, and hit the durn thing twice as hard. I made it up 98% of the way. I skeptically look at the readout, Look at the girl running the game, and just smile. I shrugged and said �Amazing�oh well�� Well I reckon the girl running the game realized that I had hit the thing much harder, and in the same place as my first hit, so she game me my monkey anyway. Crazy rigged games. Perhaps next time I should try to hit the thing so hard it breaks. But that wouldn�t be nice.

After the hammer game Caitlin, Monkey and I went to ride this thing called the trade wind. See neither of us wanted to do the water ride (I hate having wet underwear!) so we found other thing to do while the Neighbors were off getting wet. Well anyhow, I tell ya, I am glad that I had put Monkey between Her and I cause I couldn�t keep her off me! Well ok it WAS one of those spinning rides so it isn�t like she had a choice. Anyhow the Monkey started then and went wild for the rest of the day. Pet the Monkey, Touch the Monkey, Stroke the Monkey, Choke the Monkey, HEY! Your Monkey grabbed my butt, Get this Monkey off my back�and so on and so on�Needless to say, it was a lot of fun.

After the Park, Caitlin and I went to Mom�s for dinner. We watched most of The Lord of the Rings, and had this wonderful thing called Beef Salad. I know it sounds kinds gross�but I tell ya, it was very yummie.

The next day was not so much fun though. I spent most of the morning weeding the front beds at the house, woo hoo� and I am soooo paying for it today. I have about a half dozen small thorns broken off in my hands, and man wire grass will bruise the crap outta your hands if you spend all morning pulling it. After that, it was a quiet afternoon of reading and relaxing (where I should have been cleaning house), but I figured that I wouldn�t have the chance to do it next week seeing as my friends are coming into town! I can�t wait�Good food, mead, beer, and fun are online for all of next week! HOT DAMN!

Well that is it for today. I should try and get some work done today.

Today I learned that for having NEVER read the Lord of the Rings books, my working knowledge of the stories are very good. Guess that just goes to show ya that if you pay attention to what the �real� enthusiasts say about the story, you can do a good job of putting the thing together in your mind. Hmm kinda like college for me. I listened closely to lectures, and took good notes, but I don�t think I ever really �read� any of my texts, I just scanned em. Just goes to show ya, there are many many different ways of learning.

So what have you learned today?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com