Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2002-05-17 - 9:48 a.m.

I am dreading going into class today. I will be teaching an intermediate class, with the same students that I had in yesterday. Now I ask you, if they couldn�t do yesterdays work�the basic intro stuff�what makes them, or me think that they can do today�s work. Sigh�my job is to teach, not to judge. I will present the information to them in a hundred different ways if necessary, so when they leave my class they will know at least a little more than they did when they came into my class. I love teaching. I don�t love teaching people who don�t apply themselves, who don�t try. Well duh. Now I sound like just about every other teacher out there.

Well my heads made it safe and sound to MD. They should be pulled apart Monday. Which means that if everything works out right, I will have my SHO back when I return from California. I can�t wait. Perhaps this time everything will go back together correctly this time, and if it does, I should not have to do anything more than oil changes to the car for another 60k miles. Yeah right�but here is hoping.

Last night was a very pleasant one. I met the bookgirl at the local (sortta) mall for dinner and a movie. Dinner was a bust, but she bore that up with good humor. We didn�t have a very good waiter, and my pasta dish was very very pasty. Blech�fortunately for me the bookgirl had ordered a whole chicken, sandwich. No really, it was like a 2.5-pound chicken breast sandwich. You should have seen the look on her face when they brought out this monstrosity. Needless to say she was more than happy to share her Chicken Kong sandwich with me. After eating we hurried upstairs for our movie. Yes, we got to see Star Wars Attack of the Clones on opening night. Now I tell ya, going to the movies with a pregnant lady is the way to go. They have magical powers, I am convinced of it. We walk in to the theater look around for seats, and magically right in front of us, on the aisle are a set of seats. I swear that had it been just me, the place would have been packed. So the movie was fun, and visually stunning, but the commentary form the girl in front of us was less than desirable. Perhaps if it had been intelligent commentary it would not have been so bad, but she would say things like wow�all those clones look the same. Poor bookgirl, I think that she was ready to smack that girl in the head with a stick.

So today is Friday�finally. I am so ready to get out of this place for a few days. The boss is leaving at noon, and that leaves me being the ONLY one here for the rest of the day. No biggie really fridays are always very slow here. After work today I get to go see Penn and Teller with Atlas Systems (Genie�s company). It ought to be a lot of fun. I love magic shows. I saw one in Vegas when I went, and was simply amazed by the fact that Lance Burton could fit 4 ducks and a goose up his ass and still smile. I swear that is where he must have had them. There was no other place that those birds could have been hiding. So here is hoping that the show tonight is as amazing as the other one I saw.

It looks like I am going to be doing a lot of forging this weekend. The badger left the gas forge at the house, and has had to go to PA for a show. Hope he sells lots. I am thinking that I am going to work on another cable knife, and perhaps a meat fork to go with it. We shall see. There is also the chance that I will end up just cleaning house all weekend. Lord knows it needs it.

Thanks again to those of you who had encouraging words for me regarding my helpless students. It is comforting (but sad) to know that I am not the only one who has these problems. Teaching sure is a roller coaster. One min you are on this emotional high. Everything is coming together well, people are learning, you lecture is flawless, and everyone is excited�and then the next min. it is a plunge down into frustration�and nothing that you say or do gets through to em. Why do I teach? I dunno, I guess its cause I love those moments when it all comes together, when YOUR students are happy and excited, and everyone walks away having learned something new.

Till next time�What have you learned today?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com