Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2002-05-16 - 12:36 p.m.

What does a 2 headed turtle think about�

A turtle, one or two headed would think of very little. Of course there is the drive to locate food and water, and of course the drive to reproduce, but beyond that�Well they are not self-conscious. The ability for reflective thought and self-awareness is necessary before one can contemplate anything in the world that surrounds you. So what does a turtle think of? I believe it is where is the next buffet? What does a two headed turtle think about? Why does this guy keep following me? He needs to go find his own dinner�

So today is the opening of Star Wars�but yall already know that. I am wondering if I am willing to go fight my way through the masses to see this movie today. There is the Geek in me that is screaming YES! You have to go! NOW! TODAY!�but there is that part of me that just doesn�t want to deal with all of the people. Decisions, decisions�

No word on the SHO yet. I was thinking that the heads should have made it to MD by now, but I haven�t heard from the folks who are doing the work yet�Sigh�I want my car fixed!

So I feel like every step forward that my job makes, it takes 2 backwards. The salaried folks here now need to fill out bi-monthly time sheets. I think that this is going to backfire though, because most of us salaried folk work more than the 40 hrs a week that the city wants us to. And of course they don�t have the money to pay the over time, or the staff to provide the comp time. Why do they set themselves up to fail like this. Bah�I guess it is to keep the few folk out there that take advantage of the system, and skimp on the hours that they put in at work.

Update on the forge. Work went very slow on it yesterday, mostly due to having the wrong tools. So the ole Badger came back to the house, and we made both a large and a small adze. This ought to make roughing out the floor supports easier. That is provided we can keep the tool out of our shins�

Well I guess that I really am at a lack of things to talk about today. Perhaps tomorrow will be different.

Till then�

Added after class today...Dear God�how do people function? Today�s class has driven the final nail into the coffin of humanity for me. I have NEVER seen a group of adults with the uncanny ability to NOT follow directions. Verbal or written, it doesn�t matter. Not a single one of them could go it. It�s not like I am teaching rocket science. I am teaching introduction classes to things like Word. Fucking word! Come on world�you can do this, it isn�t hard, and I know that I am a good teacher�so what is the problem? Ya know, after every class I have students ask when I will be offering the advanced classes. I find it difficult to not yell and scream about how they can follow the instruction to do the simple shit in the intro class�how the fuck do they expect do the work necessary for the advanced classes. Maybe 10 years of college has jaded me. It was very much sink or swim there. I didn�t have someone to hold my hand. I never had someone coddle me and spoon-feed me in my hard as fuck architecture classes, or art history classes, or even my easy classes like flower arrangement. Perhaps I expect too much from my students. Sigh�or perhaps the world is quickly sliding down the hill of stupidity and ineptitude. Please tell me Educatlin (and Hubby) that you teach your students how to follow SIMPLE directions. Please tell me that the kids you teach get smarter from year to year, not dumber�I don�t really want to get myself mired down on this topic. I don�t want folks to think that I am becoming a jaded teacher, but come on world�fuckin do something on your own for a change�don�t make me hold your hand the whole time. You can do it. You can follow the simple instruction that I write. Christ if this ADD boy can successfully follow these directions then you should be able to. Step up to the plate and don�t be afraid to fail. Be proud that you tried�and get excited that you might succeed.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com