Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2002-10-22 - 9:29 a.m.

Another day of Aikito practice, and a whole new pile of pain.

So it seems that I have managed to pull a group of stomach muscles last night. Luck me�I knew that my stomach muscles were sore when practice started, and they twinged a bit during warm ups, but never once did I expect them to hurt that bad when I did my first backwards break fall. I don�t know how to really describe the pain other than it felt like my stomach muscles were tearing apart. Of course I figured it was just me, and that I just had sore muscles. So I did what any other red-blooded fool would do, I got back up, and did it again. Same result�no, this time I think it actually hurt worse. Well not wanting to hold the other folks up, I crawled back up to my feet, and did one last breakfall�slower this time, I figured if I did it nice and slow, nice and controlled I would be fine. When I hit the map with a thump, doubled up, and actually uttering �fuck me�.(I never make any complaining noise in the dojo, regardless of how tired or sore I am) the instructor that was working with me came to have a little chat with me. The end result was no breakfalls from me for the rest of the week, and perhaps even next week. Shit�that is going to put me 2 weeks behind. I know that is a bad way of looking at it, but it bothers me that who ever my partner is at the next practice will not get a complete workout if paired with me. That sux, for both of us. Lets hope I heal quickly. So in addition to the stomach, I have also managed to wake up with a sore knee. To much rotating on it I think. I have to figure another way of moving on it that does not have me twisting it. Sigh�I am pushing my poor old body to hard�but damnit, I am not going to hold back because my body can�t keep up. I will push it till it breaks if I have to. I�ll heal�but in the meantime, every day I push it to it�s limit, is another day that it gets stronger. Granted I did not breakfalls last night, but I still pushed�and I only had to stop once�as compared to last practice when I had to stop 4 times. Perhaps by next week I will be able to go the full 2 hours with no stops.

In other news�I am worried for my little brother. He goes in for surgery this Friday. It seems that he has this really deep cyst in his lower back that is sitting right next to his spine that won�t heal. So Friday it is going to get cut out. Needless to say he is worried also, so I have taken that day off, and I will be joining him at the hospital. He�s a trooper, but anytime you mess around near the spine there is some risk, and he knows it. Then there is the recovery time for this procedure. Imagine getting a golfball taken out of your back�that is a lot of tissue that is removed. So this means that he is through with sports for the rest of the year. Now when you are 16, a starter on the football and soccer team, this sucks�big time. Especially for my little bro�sports are his thing, and being told that you can play is weighing heavy on him. Here is hoping that everything goes well...Grrr...I wish I understood better what they were going to do to him. Perhaps then I wouldn�t be so worried.

Guess that is all for me right now�I have got too many things running through my head these days to make good sense of anything it seems. All I can do is keep moving forward, and not look back too much. That is the hard part. Yeah it is good to not forget the past, but at the same time ya can�t dwell on it, and let it control your actions for the future.

Today I learned that�well I am not sure yet. I am sure I learned something�but I just don�t remember. Perhaps I will remember something later, and add it before the end of the day. OOOHHH I know I know, I learned that the Bruins won again last night�Sorry Genie but looks like your Leafs just weren�t up to the task of battling Bears�.hehehe.


I also just learned something else today...you know what it is J...Try not to forget what is important. Win Win remember...win...win.

How bout you? Did you learn anything today�that you can remember?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com