Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2002-09-16 - 11:05 a.m.

Ok D-land, lets try this again.

My last attempt at writing an entry suddenly got way to personal. I just couldn�t post it. I guess sometimes there are things that are just better left unsaid. But we all know this�and I am sure we all have a few non-entries of our own.

This last weekend was my 32 birthday. It is kinda scary, but I don�t feel 32. I don�t feel like I have accomplished what a 32-year-old should have accomplished by now. But then what should a 32 have accomplished by now anyway? I have a college degree. I have most of a Masters degree. I have been married. I am getting divorced. I have a dog. I have owned a motorcycle. I have climbed a fourteen thousand-foot mountain. I own my dream car. I have a sports car. I have been over seas. I have swum in mountain streams and both the Atlantic and Pacific oceans. I have gotten lost. I have gotten lucky. I have good friends. I have few enemies. I have experienced love. I have experienced loss. I have saved a little girl�s life. Twice now modern medicine has saved my life. I have made people happy. I have hurt people. I have changed some people�s lives�for the better I hope. I have attended marches in DC. I have fed pigs in Ireland, and walked on the grounds of Dachau. I have ridden horses, pet sea lions, touched a shark. I have nursed a golden eagle back to health, and had a coopers hawk die in my hands. I had to kill my cat with a rock (she had been run over by a car, but was still alive). I have walked among the Giant Redwoods, and driven in the Alps. I have seen a comet, shooting stars, and solar and lunar eclipses. I have learned to tool leather and carve amber and horn. I know how to shoot a gun, a crossbow, and swing a sword. I know how to forge weld, and pattern weld. I have stood under a waterfall. Skied down a mountain. I have driven 167mph and managed to hurt no one. I have been fishing in the Chesapeake Bay, and the Second oldest river in the world. There isn�t a vehicle I can�t drive (unless it flies). I have held a newborn. I have taught children to read. I have stood in a thunderstorm. I have played in the snow. I have been to the desert. I have won money at Vegas. I have walked inside the Hoover Dam. I have eaten wild dates in Death Valley, and drunk Guinness in a Dublin pub. I have held great works of art. I have prayed in cathedrals older than the country I was born in. I have watched the sun set over the Pacific on last day of the year, and I have stood on the beach and watched the sun rise over the Atlantic on New Year�s morning. So far�I think I have led a good life.

I am not sure how the rest of the world measures success. I am not sure how the rest of the world views accomplishment. But in 32 years I have managed all of this�and more. I wonder what the nest 32 years will bring me?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com