Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2002-09-17 - 12:49 p.m.

I try writing again Take 4�

I find that I have been very distracted these last few days. This of course makes for some difficult writing. But I have to write.

I went back and looked at some of my older entries last night. Wow�that was very weird. Funny how I was affected by some things then that I had totally forgotten about now. Enh�another thing I have noticed is how much better my writing has gotten. I can barely stand to read my old work�but the things that I have been writing recently haven�t been so bad.

So can I dig up something important to say in today�s entry?

I have realized that it must be in vogue these days to be helpless. More and more people are less willing to take the time to figure things out on their own. They want things handed to em. They want things the easy way. Why? Are we as a whole becoming lazy, or scared, or do we just not know how to problem solve any more?

We live in a world of convenience. We have cars to move us about. We have stores for all our food needs. We have cell phones so we can stay connected anywhere and at anytime. We have T.V to entertain us. We spend so much time �working� that we are unwilling to devote anymore time to things that we find unpleasant to do. We have people clean our homes, cut our grass, make our food�We seem to be getting to the point that we want everything handed to us, or done for us, by the few who can still �do�. Why don�t you work on your own car. Change your own oil? Too hard? No where to do it? No time? Don�t know how? No tools? Or is it that you just don�t want to learn, or be bothered with doing? It doesn�t take a genius to fix a car. Just someone who can troubleshoot. Someone who can read. Someone who can think for themselves. Someone with a smidgen of confidence to do something on their own�even if they don�t know how�yet.

I give very detailed instruction in my classes every day on how to accomplish a particular task. Yet time and time again my students (remember I teach adults) choose not to listen to what I say, wait till I am done talking, and then blurt out�I don�t get it. Or where do I click? Or better yet�can you do this for me�I can�t do it. This shit aint hard folks. Engage the brain�think on your own. Your adults, you must have used your brain a few times in your lives.

I think that we as a people are becoming too complacent. We want someone else to tell us what to do�as long as it doesn�t interfere with our routine. We don�t want to learn. We don�t want to be bothered. We want to be breastfed and changed for the rest of our lives�and as long as we are entertained�as long as we don�t have to take any risks�as long as every thing is �safe� we could care less.

You want a good fuckin reality TV show. Take 5 �suits� give em 10 acres and a mule�tell em to live for 6 months. End of story. Sigh�why can�t people be more self reliant?

We are taught in school to comply to the norm. Then we get to college and are told to think for our selves�as long as it agrees with the professor�s ideas. We get into the work force and are rewarded for just doing our job�We as a nation are effectively crushing our individuality, our imagination, our spirit. We are expected to conform. WHY?

So that we can sit around like little automatons and be entertained by TV. So that we will accept what we are told and not resist? So we will stop thinking for our selves? Dear God�.How many hours a day�week do you spend doing nothing but imputing useless visual stimuli? How much to you sit in front of a TV? A video game? Wasting your life away? I know that I have lost much of my life in that fashion�

Bah this was not to be a rant about the evils of TV and the likes�It is about the general trend of helplessness in today�s society�sigh�it makes me sick. Take a GOD DAMN CHANCE now and then. LEARN SOMETHING FUCKIN NEW!!! Don�t rely on the world to entertain you�to fix your shit�or to give you all the answers. In fact take a weekend�and do everything yourself�don�t ask for help. Figure it out on your own. Can you do it? Or do you not want to waste your time�that could be better spent watching TV, playing games, watching a movie�fuck�I am one sour ass today.

Today I learned (admitted) that I hate helplessness. I hate folks who wait for the �hand out�. Folks who refuse to figure it on their own�Come on world�show a little back bone for a change. Stand up for your self�on your own feet.

Sorry all�I�m not sure where all this came from. Sigh�.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com