Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2002-08-02 - 10:01 a.m.

Am I going to miss Pennsic?

After thinking about this for several days now I think I finally have an answer. No.

Do I have any reasons? Well a few, but they are petty. I don�t like the drive, I don�t like the mad rush that occurs when you are getting ready for it, and I certainly don�t like the mad rush to get ready for work when you get back. But I think that the biggest reason that I don�t mind missing Pennsic is now that I am no longer a student, I just don�t have the time to go. Lemme see, right now I get 1 day a month of vacation. That is 12 days a year, and I�ll be damned if I am going to blow my vacation on Pennsic when I bcan blow it on say a trip over seas with my pop, a fishing trip with my buds, or doing something I have never before done. I�ve been to Pennsic�I have never been to Yellowstone National Park. Life is too short to keep doing the same thing over and over again.

Yeah�every Pennsic has been pretty much the same for me. Yes I had fun�I fought, I shopped, I danced, I took classes, I partied, I met folks and hung out with friends�but ya know, it really is the same thing year after year. Does this mean that I am never going again? Does this mean that I am bored with Pennsic? No of course not, but at the same time I don�t feel the need to go every year, when there are things out there that I have never done.

So last night was a real let down at the forge. I wasn�t happy with anything that I made. I ruined a few things, I didn�t finish all the projects that I wanted to have done by today (Sorry Bryce, I only got one set of handles made�but I fucked up 3 others! Sorry man it wasn�t for a lack of tryin.), and I burned the shit out of my hand. Fortunately it was in a callused spot so it is not nearly as bad as it could have been. It was as if my muse didn�t feel like braving the heat and the mosquitoes with me. Sigh�But that is the way of things when you are a budding artist. Not everything works out the way you want them to. I did get a little creative with some things that Badger had left laying around. I took these dragon heads that he had left laying around, pointed one end, and ran a ring through their mouths. I think they will make great little hangers for something. Not sure what but they look cool.

Today I am hoping to hear from my bud Brian that my heads have made it safely to the shop. Soon�soon I will be able to let the Jeep rest, and go back to being a play toy, not a responsible, reasonable means of daily transportation. Funny how most everyone I know is all anxious for next week to get here cause of Pennsic, and I am all excited cause I get to work on my car. Hehe�well I find it funny.

Speaking of which, go look at this site. I laughed, but that doesn�t mean that you will. It is worth looking at none the less.

Well I reckon that this is all for today. I have a class to teach, and I am running out of time.

Today I learned that patience is a virtue. One that I am not sure I have.

What have you learned today?

Arrrggghhh I hate how Word changes the code I write every single time...making it not work!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com