Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2002-07-12 - 9:48 a.m.

So here I am driving to work today, and I saw�a human bobble head! I swear to God�he was a human bobble head. I was driving along in my Jeep (yes, yes�the SHO is still not fixed yet�STILL waiting on the parts) when this explorer (with WAY too much bass) pulls up behind me. Glancing in my rear view I am awarded with the sight of this goofie looking white dude with the biggest, roundest (even bigger and rounder than puckeater) head I have EVER seen on a person. Oh and he was all decked out like one of the brothers�Funny looking red and white hat, that was too big, perched on his head at an angle that was slightly off, matching shirt, and one of those I wish I could grow facial hair, but since I can�t I will hang this damp rat off my face instead�weak ass goatee. Well to get to the best part of the story�he had this silly ass grin on his face, and his head�it was just bobbling around on his shoulders�he had no neck�at least that I could see�but his head�it wouldn�t stop�bobbling. Yes, I guess it was kinda bobbling to the music, what I could hear of it over the bass�but it was bobbling! Then instantly like a flash of lightning that song by the Offspring, pretty fly for a white guy, forced it�s self into my head. And then I couldn�t help it. I started snickering, and then laughing�By this time he had pulled up along side of me, saw me with this great big goofy smile on my face, and he smiled as well�and that is when I saw it�His entire upper set of teeth�from canine to canine were GOLD!!! OMG!!!! It was amazing. I had in seen a creature as elusive as Bigfoot, or a Yeti�I have had an encounter with a HUMAN BOBBLE HEAD! Sometimes the truth is weirder than fiction�

In other news�(non-sequitur warning�) Did you know that in MS Word, Spell check thinks that Bigfoot is spelled wrong, and the only suggestion it give as a replacement is bigot�hehehe.

So yesterday I got to freak out my co-workers in a good way. I have reinforced my Grizzly Adams image. This years summer reading program is all about pets, animals and the like, so a group, in association with the Virginia Living Museum brought some critters to the Library. We had a Hog Nose snake (I have never seen one alive before�what a very cool looking critter), a opossum, a skunk, a turtle, a bat, a flying squirrel, a hissing cockroach, a tarantula, and a hedgehog. And of course I talked to the folk before the show, and asked if I could hold the animals when they brought them out. Now they were a little skeptical at first, but when I told them that I had spent 2 years working at a wildlife rehab center in Southwest Virginia. So, they first tried to recruit me for some volunteer work (which I just might do) and then told me that they would be happy to let me hold the critters (that way the could be out on display for longer). So The first fellah I got to play with was the snake�now as soon as it was put into my hands my co-workers looked like they would about faint�hehe. I guess the snake was cool and all, but really he was a bit crawly for me. I don�t like snakes that won�t sit still for a moment or two. After that I got to hold the Opossum. He was just like Huckleberry, the opossum we had at the rehab center. Big male, very quiet and docile, and man I had forgotten how strong their tails were. Then it was time to hold the skunk. One of my favorite critters they had there. She was a very nice, very domesticated skunk. Of course she had been descented, but she still had that slight skunky smell about her. No worse than stinky ferrets though. I guess the thing that really nailed the lid on the coffin was the cockroaches and the spider. I held them, let them crawl on my arms, and even tried to give my co-workers a better look (one fled the room when I came near her�hehehe�I am such a guy sometimes). Needless to say it was fun, and left me with a jonesin to get back into working with animals.

I tell ya, it would be a very hard decision. I if I were offered a job as a blacksmith and a job at an animal rehab center/ wildlife educational outreach program, I am not sure which one I would go with�maybe I could figure out a way to do both at the same time!!! heheh

So today I have learned that the Fellahs at Pro-Tech are not a bunch of crooks. I just got off the phone with them, and was informed that if they did not get more info as the WTF is up with my heads that they were re-machining by Monday, then Kevin is going to take the set of perfectly good heads they have in the shop, have them re-machined locale, and rebuild them himself. So�I have been told, come hell or high water, my heads will be done by this up coming Wed. At last�I finally feel like these guys are taking me seriously as a customer. Guess calling everyday, twice a day for 2 weeks now has started to get under their skin. Or the fact that I have been so very nice and patient to their faces, that they feel bad that I am getting jerked around. Oh well, regardless�this means that I should hopefully have my SHO back in time to go to the steam tractor show up near my Uncles place at the end of the month�here is the sound of me once again holding my breath.

So what have you learned?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com