Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2004-11-02 - 8:27 a.m.

Funny how easy it is to get out of practice for doing things. Writing has gotten so much harder for me lately. Not cause I don�t have anything to say these days, but because it is once again hard for me to write anything that is not work related (ya know�all that technical writing crap). And yes, while I realize that the only way to get back in to �shape� is to start writing more...it is hard. So bear with me.

Election Day. It is hard to believe that my vote makes a difference what with the Electoral College what it is. Ever since I was 18 I have gotten out and voted�in Virginia. And every time my candidate looses the sate�and I am left wondering how my vote mattered. I know �My vote could be the deciding vote� or if everyone felt that way no one would vote blah blah blah�

When all is said and done no one really gives a fuck that a third or half of the state ( or the country for that matter) didn�t want you in office. No one cares that you voiced your opinion. And that bothers me. Virginia has 13 electoral votes, and in typical Old Dominion fashion I expect to see that all 13 will go to Mr. Bush. But I can�t help but feel that this invalidates my vote. This all or nothing thing sucks in my opinion. It is frustrating�and�bah�never mind. I will go to the polls and cast my vote regardless...and will have my vote either validated or invalidated by this winner take all policy.

I spent the last week up in Baltimore for work again. And as is par for the course it was fun enough�but fairly unproductive. There was no one in the office. Heh funny that�but our contractor psudo-boss told us that this would most likely happen since this trip was politically motivated. Ahhh�the joys of living and working in corporate America. Bah�

The apartment is getting closer and closer to finally being finished. I am waiting on a few book cases, a new sofa, and a bike rack and with that�I think that I will finally be done. I am very excited by this prospect. No more clutter�no more stacks of books and stuff. It will be nice�organized (well as much as my life ever is�it will never be a contender for a better homes and gardens spread) and most importantly�mine. No sharing�no compromise�no nothing. Funny how the single life has become so appealing to me once again. Its a quiet life�and some times a bit lonely�but the huge reduction in bull shit, angst, frustration is certainly worth it�at least for now.

Well it is time that I try and get some work done�more later. I hope.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com