Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2002-10-30 - 10:06 a.m.

A happy good morning on the dreary rainy cold day in October.

And what makes it so happy Mr. Bear?

IT�S COMIC DAY! Of course�




So I have a problem, I have been taking pain killers and anti inflammatories for my knee�and now it has almost stopped hurting. Why is this bad? Cause with out the pain as a reminder that my knee is messed up, I do dumb things�Hmm�one more day, just one more day and I will have my brace, and I can safely go back to my normal life. But until then, I am going to have to constantly remind myself that my knee is not better�it just doesn�t hurt cause of the meds.




In SHO land, a miracle has occurred�ALL of the parts that I ordered shipped yesterday. I even have a conformation number for it all. Now lets just hope that they are in fact the correct parts.




Is there such a thing as too much patience? When does patience end and enabling begin?

I have always considered myself to be an excellent teacher. I am usually very clear with what I am trying to explain, I have a knack for presenting material in a variety of ways in order to best suit the student(s), and I am patient�to a fault. I will hold your hand for as long as it takes�I will explain a concept over and over and over again until you get it�I will bend over backwards to help you. But where do I draw the line. When should I just pull out and let you sink or swim? I know that if I am there for you all the time, you will begin to rely on me to save you. You will take less and less risks. You will stop thinking for yourself. You will balk at things that are hard. You will turn to someone, looking for help, rather than working through an obstacle. You will have learned helplessness from me�

Does this mean that I have failed as a teacher?




Is there such a thing as too much patience? When does patience end and enabling begin?

I have always considered myself to be a steady person. I am a rock�I am an island. I will still be there when the storm passes. I will continue on regardless of the hardships that surround me. I am patient. I know that it will all end one day, and when it does�things will be better. People die�I move on. Love crumbles around me�I move on. Friendship turns to hatred�I move on. Riches turn to poverty�I move on. The good times give way to bad�I move on. Jobs come and jobs go�I am patient�things will come around again. Life is a circle. I will be patient. Things will again get better. They always do. But when does waiting become unhealthy? When should I meet these events head on? When should I CHANGE�instead of wait? Am I letting the world dictate and control my life? Or am I in harmony with the world, moving along with it? A partner, a companion�or a slave to it�s whim?

Have I taught myself to be helpless?




Today I learned that I think WAY too much when I am alone. When I am, my mind, while usually quiet, goes through these moments of intense activity. My thoughts move faster than I can keep up with. Which leaves me wondering�trying to decipher their meaning from the pieces that are left behind. Perhaps that is why I surround myself with people. To numb my mind. To give me something to focus on. To help me maintain that inner calm�.cause honestly�my thoughts�they scare me.

And have you learned anything today?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com