Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2002-09-30 - 9:19 a.m.

I sit here this morning pondering my job. I am bored with it. Ok not true, I am bored with most of it. See I don�t mind the teaching part, but that only takes up at most 3 hours of my day. That of course leaves me with 5 hours that I act as �tech support� for the computer lab. In other words, I spend 5 hours a day at work doing nothing. It is killing me. I do not like being idle at work. I would much rather have something to do. Yes I guess I could be trying to develop new programs, and flyers for the library, but nothing I have done yet has been put into circulation, so why bust my ass to create more things that also will not be used. Sigh�I need something that challenges me, and keeps me busy. But what? Good question�it is hard to find a job these days with my type of experience. I have a degree in nothing (liberal arts) and most of a masters in education�which equals�nothing. Bah�

I need to talk about something else. This drivel is even annoying me.

This last weekend was fairly fun. Saturday saw me rearrange my living room. I am very happy with the current look. I finally got rid of some chairs that I couldn�t stand, and picked up 2 little bookcases that perfectly match my desk. These little bookcases are now home to my music. It has been bothering me for a while now that my music has been living in a stack on my computer desk, but that is no longer a problem. Now my problem is that I don�t have enough music. I have way too much open space on the bookshelves. Oh well�guess I�ll just have to get more music�isn�t that a shame�

So after a day of cleaning house, Puckeater, the Samurai, and Vlad took over my kitchen and treated our selves to a roaring game of hero clix. Gotta say, it was a hoot even if Puckeater and the Samurai are DC elitist�but that is ok. 2 games that night were played�and both time I won. The first game was a big ole giggle. It faced the Gotham city police vs. The Flash and lackey vs. Hawkman, Plastic man, and Robin, vs. my team of Harley Quinn and Cat woman. And yup�the ladies of Gotham whooped ass. Granted I think that it was all luck on my part. As for the second game it was Superman vs Batman vs Juggernaut vs THE HULK. I was playing the HULK. That battle was a bit lopsided. As Puckeater (Superman) told the Samurai (Batman)�While I am proud to wear the bat�I think this is going to be a bit like bringing a knife to a gun fight man�Needless to say Ole Bats was the first to go down. Something about Juggernaut dropping a dumpster on him or something. After that it was a big ole slug fest between the Powers that be. HULK kept trying his best to SMASH Superman with a motorcycle�but to no effect, so frustrated by this he decided that chucking the thing at his buddy Juggy was a much better idea. A few rounds after that and Ole superman was laying twitching on the ground after receiving a withering SMASH from ole Mr. Mean Green. It was then a face off between Juggy and the HULK. Both in rough shape after their scrap with Superman, the fight didn�t take long. Juggy smashed HULK with his dumpster, and HULK now pissed retaliated by SMASHING Juggy with a motorcycle. Poor Juggy�couldn�t take the punishment.

Did I mention that that night was a joyous return to bachelor hood? We sat around stuffing our faces on Pizza, drinking Diet Soda (ok assholes�we are all over 30 now�and a wee bit weight conscious. Sides who knows what would have happened if we had mixed beer in with that game of smack talk!) and talking much smack. I am telling ya�next game we need to get The Ruttles in on the action. Nothing quite like seeing the quiet unassuming Mrs Ruttle Beating the snot outta a bunch of Geek Boys, in her quiet unassuming way. Oh was the my Thug who was kicking the crap outta Captain America�he must be a wuss�

Sunday was a bit more quiet and reserved. Ole Vlad and I vegged around the house till around one when we headed off to Greenies to drink ourselves some beer and watch the Steelers get their asses handed to em again, and catch up with some friends. The beer was good, the game was better (can you believe the Steelers actually won in OT?) and it is always fun hangin out with your buds. And in a refreshing sort of way, it is cool hanging out with buds who are not SCA. Cause ya know, sometimes I just really don�t want to talk about flat snaps, or events, or who just got what, or who did what�or even history. Don�t get me wrong, I love the SCA�but I also like getting a break from it too. So after the game it was off to Cari�s place with the guys to have a few beers, and to put up the Kite. That was mucho fun. Nothing quite like watching grown men getting drug around by a wee little (4.5-Meter) kite (a few time on their face). Lots of fun was had, and I think I have now hooked like 5 more people on the fun and excitement of Traction Kiting. Hmm�I so have to get one of my own soon�Hmm�perhaps I can convince my Dad that I need one for Christmas. If I can prove to him how cool it is, and that he can fly it too�he just might bite.

Well I guess that is about it for the weekend. Lots of fun and excitement, sore arms from flying the kite, and a little bit worse from wear from all the beer�but all in all�well lets put it this way�

It was a good weekend�and like all good weekends�er�ahem�it was GOOD!

So today (well yesterday actually) I learned that I need to do some work on the Jeep. The poor thing is getting back at me for A: not driving it more, and B: not keeping it in a garage. I am thinking that the problem is as simple as a bud starter solenoid, which will be a ver y easy fix. Barring that my starter is going bad, which is very possible, since the last time that I had the Jeep out it was Raining like MAD, and I had to drag my next door neighbor out of a 2.5 foot deep puddle. I guess that could have pissed the ole Jeep off. I ran her hard that day�and put her away wet�very wet. Hmm�I guess I would be a bit cranky too. Guess that it is time to expend a little TLC on it to once again make the Jeep feel loved.

Ok, so I am a weirdo�but that doesn�t change anything�I always have been a weirdo. But this weirdo still wants to know what you have learned today.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com