Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2002-09-24 - 12:16 p.m.

Cars in my life part 2.

Guess I really ought to finish this 2 part entry. I am not really inspired to write today though.

1979 AMC Jeep CJ-7:

After I sold the Chevy, I found myself in the market for transportation again, and I found it in the form of another Jeep. I told myself that this time I would make sure that I upgraded from the last one I had. This CJ was a nice black with plenty of chrome accents, it had a 258cid straight six, and a t-4 4 speed manual tranny. This was much more Jeep than my previous one�with one exception. The body was a mess. The rust was all over this little beastie, and in fact as a passenger in the rear you could actually reach through the fender wells and play with the tire and suspension components. I didn�t let this stop me though. A little fiberglass resin and it was good as new again�sortta. I loved that Jeep, regardless of the numerous mechanical problems that it had. We went every where, over and through anything�and I even tried to roll this Jeep 3 times. But as time marched by I began to realize that this poor boy was beyond restoration. It was time to move on, and I needed to consider a car that was more reliable and had more carrying capacity.

The old Jeep was sold to a young high School fellah�I hope he had as much fun with it as I did.

1979 Chevrolet K-5 Blazer:

Ok so everyone makes mistakes now and then. This was another one of em. My Blazer was BIG! It had 35� tires, with a 4� suspension lift and a 3�body lift. I bought a step ladder just to check the oil. It was powerful, and loud�and a mess. Straight pipes on a big V-8 makes for a deafening roar�and a headache on long trips. I guess that the real problem with the blazer was that for all of its size, it really didn�t have much of a carrying capacity. So in the long run it just didn�t work out. Well that and the 9mpg and the tranny that was just about shot. That giant was fun for a while, but I soon realized that I needed something much more practical.

K-5 was sold to a big ole redneck�it suited him well.

1990 Dodge Grand Caravan:

For months prior to purchacing the Caravan I had heard my bud Edwin talk about the joys of the caravan. It could haul folks, stuff, and ass�The latter surprised me, but turned out to be true. I liked the stealth qualities of the van though. The van was a silver color with the powerful 3.3L V-6. Best engine Dodge offered. Unfortunately it was coupled with the shittiest tranny they had. I drove the caravan for quite awhile, but soon became tired of navigating the big ole thing all over the city. It was time for a change again.

The van is now happily living with Genie�s Parents.

1996 Saturn SC2:

Enter the Saturn. What a fantastic little sports wanabe car. It had a powerful V-4 engine coupled with a 5 speed manual tranny. A plastic body made for a nice light quick car. The interior was leather with a Deluxe sound system. And add to this the fantastic price that it was bought for, what was there not to like. Oh�well aside for the fact that it was built for midgets. I had to have the sunroof open, and still slouch in order to keep my head from rubbing on the roof. Oh and lets not even bother talking about putting adults in the back seat�that was torture. I was just way too cramped in this little go-cart. I had to have something with more head room�

Genie still has the Saturn.

1983 AMC Jeep CJ-7:

Notice a trend here yet? Yea�I love Jeeps. And I am the proud and happy owner of an 83 Renegade package. It is powered by the capable 4.2L inline 6, coupled with a t-5 5 speed tranny. It is White with classic �70 orange striping. The body is in Exceptional condition, and the engine is in fair shape (nothing a rebuild wont fix�) All I need to do now is get my baby into a permanent garage. The weather really eats these things up.

I love my Jeep and I still have her.

1989 Ford Taurus SHO:

Need I really say any more about this beast�if you really want to know more about his car see my earlier posts.

My daily driver�for a while I hope�

So today I learned that I think I am coming down with the plague. Guess I have been having too much fun lately�and it is time to�er�rest. Guess I will be pounding through that First season of Buffy that Corby lent me�I had to see what all the fuss was about after all�

And yall? Have you learned anything yet today?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com