Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2002-09-20 - 9:43 a.m.

By the time I finish writing this it will be time for my class. Followed by the fastest two hours of my day. Ahh I love teaching the class�specially when my students are not helpless�

So I think I just fried my co-workers little mind. She is sitting here trying to make small talk�God I hate small talk�and asks me if I plan to sell my Jeep. I say I might consider it. So she asks me what year it is, and I tell her �83. And she asks me how many miles and I tell her 68k. She asks me how much and I tell her $6500. Her jaw drops, and she says $6500 for a 20 year old car!!! I simply smile and say yup. To which she replies how can you justify that? I smile and tell her��it�s an AMC Jeep Cj-7, with less that 100k miles on it. There is NO body rust on it what so ever. It has $600 worth of tires, and a second engine sitting at the garage waiting to be rebuilt. The top is in EXCELLENT condition and�it is my baby. She looks amazed and again says�but it is just a Jeep. To which I reply, �which is exactly why you won�t buy it.�

Yeah I admit it�I like weird cars. But not a one of you out can tell me that my cars are boring. Yeah, I have to work on em all the time, but that is the price you pay for having a 4wd that you can take the top, doors, and windshield off of, and go damn near anywhere. That is the price you pay for having a 4dr family sedan that can do 0-60 in 5.5, that can do the quarter mile in 14sec (only 2 seconds slower than a corvette), and that handles like it is on rails.

So why do I need these types of cars? I don�t NEED them�I have them because I can. I have them because for me driving is more than a necessary chore. I love to drive, and when I do I want to experience it. I want to enjoy it. And these cars are the best I can get based on my puny little paycheck. Oh hell yeah�If I pulled 6 figures, or close to that I can guarantee that I would trade the SHO in for BMW M5�In a heart beat�but name me a teacher that can drop 75k on a car.

What would be a dream vacation for me? Getting in my SHO, or on a bike�or even my Jeep and heading off cross-country. No destination in mind�just the open road the plains and the mountains.

I realize that there are many of you folks who just don�t really give a rats ass about cars�but I am sure you have your share of �weird� things you like. Getting hit with sticks for example (yeah I like it too). I am sure that there are things that you are willing to pay the big bucks for�that you are willing to own even if it is harder to maintain�or difficult to support�or what ever (Mac�s for example�from what I hear from some of yall�they are better than PC�s�but if I am just surfing the net�checking e-mail�word processing�yeah you get the picture I am sure). Today I will stop by the garage to do a last minute check up on the SHO before heading off to Richmond. I will be changing the oil (Which I did only 2k ago), replacing the fuel filter, cleaning the K&N air filter, and other assorted stick poking. Sounds like a PITA right�well maybe, but I am willing to pay that price to drive my 325hp Yamahammer.

So this has to be one of my more disjointed, rambling entries. It sucks, but I was grasping for something to write about. I needed to kill some time before class. And sides I HAD to write. I guess it would be unreasonable for every entry to be profound, thought provoking, moving, or funny.

Today I learned that EVERY time I teach blacksmithing to someone�I fuckin hurt myself. Sigh�I will be looking so good this weekend with burns, Band-Aids, and blisters all over my hands�sigh�I guess I could always pick up a safer hobby like�feather sorting or something.

And you�Yeah that�s right YOU! What have you learned today?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com