Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2002-08-20 - 9:04 a.m.

Yesterday was such a long day.

The morning started off well enough. I got to work with no problems, managed to accomplish a few things, and life was good. Then I had to go downtown. What a mistake. See I figured that I would stop by the garage to see how things were going with the SHO before I headed off to make a million copies and fold paper till my fingers bled. And thus it began. No the SHO hadn�t been started yet (It did make it onto the lift a few hours later though, so barring any more unforeseen problems I am hoping for my car come Wed or Thurs). Sigh�But that is ok, I understand where Brian was coming from. He was sent a bad engine (but didn�t know it at the time), installed it, and then had to pull it and replace it with another engine. What PITA! After that I got in the Jeep and headed for downtown. UGH�I hate driving in stoopid tourist traffic. But to make this trip worse, it was a million degrees outside and � of a mile from my exit I found my self at a dead stop in traffic. Remember I am dressed for work. Not shorts and tank top for me�An hour and a half later I made it to Kirn. Only now I felt like total crap. I know I was way over heated�I quit sweating and had a monster headache. But to top all this off the equipment that I was heading downtown to use was broken! By this time I felt like crap and I was furious. So I did what any other red blooded American with a ton of sick leave would do�I went home. A short nap later and plenty of water then left me in a wonderful mood again.

After that incident Tholen and I headed off to the shooting range. We killed many a little orange targets with our MANLY .22 cal pistols, while the yahoos around us were blazing away with this big ole hand cannons. They of course snickered at us and what not, but when they saw our targets that stopped. I was then invited to shoot an SKS that the guy in the next lane over had. Hmm I thought, this could be fun. I have never shot one of these before�So the owner showed me how it worked and told me to blaze away! So I did. After shooting my 5 rounds I thought to myself�Self, what a nice rifle. Sure is accurate. Dude then reels in the targets and is astonished by my shooting (and a bit put off as well I think). Where his groupings on the target were about serving platter sized�mine were all nicely packed into the 2� circle in the middle of the target (hehehehe). Ya know�It was a freakin rifle! Well dude asks if I have ever shot an SKS or any other large rifle before, and I politely reply no�just little .22 cal rifles. Sigh�he didn�t offer to let me shoot the beast again. Guess it�s bad form to show up the guns owner by shooting better than him.

After shooting both Tholen and I were pretty beat. We were amazed at how long we had been at the range. But unfortunately the day was not over yet. I still had dinner to cook. Problem was I had no earthly idea what I would be cooking. A quick trip to the store yielded me with the fixins for a Cajun think that I know I can�t spell. It is basically rice, tomatoes, fishy/seafood parts, garlic, onions�well and the list goes on. Point being that By 11:00 pm (well after my bed time) dinner was done. Sigh�I ate a little bit and then promptly fell out. And lemme tell ya, getting up today�SUCKED! Oh well�at least today is due to be a nice quiet day. Oh and after class�well, I am headed back to Kirn in hopes of getting my work from yesterday done�Yippie! I just hope that today there wont be any traffic problems.

So today I learned that even half asleep, with nothing more than a vague idea of what I am cooking�I can still surprise myself and my guests with a truly tasty meal. I guess that goes to show you that once you learn how to cook, you only need to apply you knowledge of how things work together to create a tasty meal. This of course just reinforces my belief that cooking is an art�while baking is a science. Oh�and I can�t bake�

So what have you learned today?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com