Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2002-07-31 - 9:45 a.m.

Unfucking believable!

The impossible has finally happened!

My heads were SHIPPED TODAY!!!!!!!

That means they should be in my grubby little hands by Friday. HalleFuckinlujah! So by this time next week, it will be SHOtime! The SHO will be on the road, and I can SHO off my toy. I can finally SHO all of you non-believers that this thing does actually run. SHO-nuff�

SHOrry�I�ll stop now.

So I realized that making handles are a little more complicated than I had originally thought. As of last night when it got too dark to see, I had exactly � of one pair done�whew�I am racking it up to having never done handles before. It is not that I don�t have the skills to make them, I understand perfectly how to do it. I just don�t have the experience with this project to do it quickly. Sigh�That is the biggest test of a good smith. It is one thing to be able to make an object, but it is a whole new game to make it quickly. I am learning though. Sometimes I think that I expect too much of myself. I have to constantly remind myself that I have only been doing this for 2 years (on and off), and a year and a half of that was self-taught. But of course I demand nothing but perfection from myself. Hehe�Badger has figured how to combat this though. He has told me to toss all my projects in this wooden box...and every once in a while he will show up with an envelope of $$$ for me. I guess if Badger is willing to sell the stuff, it can�t be all that bad. Now I just need to really convince myself of that.

In other news�today is COMIC day! Woo-hoo! Fortunately it is payday as well.

I have come up with another reason to hate AC. When it gets really really hot outside, these little fuckers invade my library and raise as much hell as the possibly can while soaking up the cool air. Now I wouldn�t mind them coming in if the didn�t stink, weren�t loud, were less belligerent, and mostly respectful of the folks and equipment around them. But they are�90% of em, and I am getting really tired of telling folks to be quiet, telling them the same thing day after day, fixing the same problem that I showed them how to troubleshoot 10 times already, and kicking these little darlings outta my lab while dealing with their bullshit attitudes. Sometimes I wish we were a less civilized bunch. That way when these little fuckers disrespect my co-workers and me, I could just put my steel tipped size 12 triple E right up their ass. Bet they would learn really fast how to behave. Or maybe not, sigh�

Today (well last night really) I learned that I need new high quality files. These shitty ones that I have seem to make more work for me than they accomplish. The reason that I need them are for decorative work. A very neat decorative element is to place twists bordered by little spheres (that you file in to the work) in the plain straight areas of your work. This breaks up a boring line, and makes it something more than �just� a tool. Yup�I guess you could say my work has balls�

So�what have you learned today (or last night)?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com