Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2002-07-30 - 9:55 a.m.

Today looks like it is going to be another wonderful day. Well that is if I ignore the heat, the loud outta control children, and this sense of dread that has set up camp in my stomach.

Why the dread you ask? Well cause today is the day that Pro-Tech has told me they will be shipping out my heads. Yeah I really don�t believe em either. But even if, by some freak miracle they do get shipped today, I will not rest well till they get put in my grubby little paws. I can just see it now, some unfortunate accident befalls them in transit�they get fucked, and have to go back to get re-built again. Ok ok�perhaps things are finally coming to an end with the SHOpera. Here is hoping. So lets see, provided they do get shipped today, I should have em by Friday at the latest, which means by this time next week�I could be SHOin off again!

In other news, I worked bronze for the first time. Wow, what very neat stuff. It is very easy to hammer (provided you don�t heat it too much. It melts very easy in the forge) and it cleans up nicely. I�m tellin ya this is gonna be the purttiest button hole makin/punchin thingie ever�Tonight I will be focusing on a more practical project though, box hardware. I am needing to make some handles for the chest that Bryce has. Should be challenging, but loads of fun. I am not sure yet how I am going to make handles that move, but I figure that once I am standing in front of the forge it will come to me.

Yesterday was the monthly staff meeting at work�sigh. Do you ever get good news at these things? I know that yesterday I didn�t. I am currently doing the work of 2 people for the library, and as of September 1 I will be doing the work of 3. What do I mean you ask? Well in a month and a bit, I will be responsible for 3 branches�I think that when this happens I am going to have to insist on a pay raise and a city car. Basically I am going to have to double my class load, and drive all over Norfolk every day going from one library to another. In fact the powers that be are thinking that they may want me to offer classes 5 days a week, now including Saturday, at each branch. Hmm lemme do some math here. 2 hour class�3 branches that is 6 hours just in class alone. Now lets add in the travel time of 20 min to get to any of the branches, and we are now up to hours�now lets see that leaves me with 10 min to get ready for class, and 10 min after class to answer questions and get out of the building. Um�when am I supposed to do my planning, development, and day to day bullshit involved with the job�WTF? Something is going to have to give here, cause they don�t pay me enough for this bullshit. Hmmm�there is that museum educators position in Hampton that I was thinking about applying for�I think that is looking like a better and better idea. Bah�

Well it is class time, gotta go.

Today I learned that bronze melts at 1800 degrees, while steel would be just getting to a good workable temp.

So�what have you learned today?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com