Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2002-07-24 - 9:21 a.m.

Good morning world!

Today is a new day�that which happened yesterday is the past. So quit worrying about it�(NO I still don�t have the heads for the SHO)

Last night was quite an experience for me. I got to be�er�one of the Girls�or something. See it was girls� night out for some of my co-workers, but they decided that I should come along as well. Does that mean I�m an honorary girl now? Bah�So we go to this local Country Bar cause tonight is lesson night. Yes country-dance lesson night (in fact it turns out that every Tue. and Thurs. is lesson night).

But lets back up a few steps first. About a half hour before quitten time I get a call from the �Book Buggy Girl� (yeah we really do call her that).

Her: So we are meeting at the Banque right after work, and WE have decided that you will meet us there.

Me: er�ok.

Her: Good.

Me: I need to go home and let the dog out first.

Her: Sigh�if you must�but don�t be late.

Me: um�ok.

Man I tell ya, I figured there would be some sortta ceremony, or at least a questionnaire to become an Honorary Girl. Guess not.

So I get home, take care of the critters, and hop back into the Jeep. Now here is where the fun begins. I had not put the doors on the Jeep, the top was on, but no doors, remember this fact. As I am on my way to the Banque I realize that I ought to stop by the bank and get myself some cash. Ok np, my bank is just down the road. Here comes the good part. As I pull up to the very first stoplight the Heavens open up and the rain starts pouring down. We are talking buckets�no, barrels�no, bathtubs! And of course the wind is blowing from my�no not right�but my left. Now what did I tell yall to remember. Yeah that�s right. So guess what. Yup, by the time I get to the Banque, the entire left side of my body is soaked. Good thing I am not here to pick up women (that would be a bit awkward�one of the girls picking up chicks and all�I�m not sure my co-workers are ready for that sortta thing).

Well finally here we are, all at the Banque. Me and the rest of the girls. I am feeling a bit underdressed by this time. In fact I feel foolish for not wearing a dress like the rest of the girls that night, I hadn�t done my hair (in fact I looked like a wet rat at the moment), and my makeup was a mess (sheesh�this girl stuff is hard�). So we get into the place, and Super Cathy begins leading the way. We get up to the �door� and are greeted by this fellah with a huge black hat on (he must have been a bad guy I guess) and the LARGEST belt buckle that I have ever seen. Good thing I was one of the girls that night, cause I might have felt a bit inferior what with his buckle being so much bigger than mine. So this guy at the door looks at the 5 ladies that I was there with, and greets us with a simple �howdy Ladies� followed by a �yall here for the lessons, or ya stayin all night?� (I could tell he so wanted me). Well the reply was a short simple �here for the lessons� so the nice guy (and here I thought he must have been a bad guy cause of his hat color) waved the cover charge and let us in. Granted when he finally noticed me at the back of the �pack� he quickly corrected his �ladies� thing, and said �oh sorry partner�I didn�t see ya there with them. Wow�I must have been blending perfectly or something.

So now we are in. We grab a table and folks start ordering. Margarita here, some other mixed drink there, a glass of wine for her, and when it finally gets around to me. I�ll have a beer thanks. The ladies all look at me. Guess the girls don�t drink beer on ladies night out or something. Enh�oh well.

Soon after the dancing starts. I did some barn dancing, and some two step, and lastly this line dancing thing that reminded me way too much of step aerobics just with out the step. Hehe�there was a reason that Tholen and I always kept in that back of that class�well ok there were a few more reasons than that, but anyhow.

Gotta tell ya, I had a good time. The ladies I danced with were all very nice and patient with me, and some even complimented me on how quickly I picked things up. Heck�this stuff isn�t too different from SCA dancing really. Soon after the lessons had ended the live band got up on stage and began doing all sorts of covers. Yeah they were pretty good, but I was disappointed that they didn�t do much in the way of original work. Of course the rest of the girls told me how dumb this was. Who wants to dance to music they don�t know. Ahh�foolish me. And here I was just listening to, and enjoying the music. Man being one of the girls is hard�You would have thought they would have given me a handbook first so I wouldn�t keep making all these embarrassing mistakes.

Well it finally came time to leave (for them) but as I looked at the time I realized that it was much too early (it was only 9:00pm) so I told em that I was going to hang around a bit. This of course was met with a surprised look, and the question of �Why?� I shrugged, and looked at em all, and said very simply��It�s not like I have anything to go home to, so one place is just as good as another. Take care all, cya later� I was pretty surprised by the reaction that statement elicited, in fact I still am. But think about it, I could stay at the Banque, have a few more beers, listen to a pretty durn good band (even if they did only play covers), and watch pretty ladies dance and spin around the floor�or�I could go home to and empty house (ok that is not quite true, my dog was at the house) and stare at the walls, read, clean, or watch some crap on TV. What would yall have chosen? Needless to say I stayed for a bit longer, and then raced another storm home (I beat this one).

All in all it was a fun night. Line dancing really ain�t that bad if you have had enuff beer to drink, and I have noticed that the folks at this place are much more polite that any of the other bars that I have hung out at. Hmm perhaps I will return Thursday for more lessons�it should prove to be fun, oh and did I mention that it is ladies night to boot? Perhaps the door man will remember me from last night and let me in cover free�after all it seems as if I have passed the test to be �one of the girls�.

Today (well last night actually) I learned that the best partners to learn country dancing from are the �older" ladies. Yeah if they are my mom�s age or older they tend to be more patient, they slower (a good thing for us beginners), and of course know how to pump up a guys ego (they know all the right things to say). As for the younger ladies�well perhaps it was cause I wasn�t cute enough, to clumsy on the floor, or maybe it was just cause half of me was wet, but they seemed�well, a bit uncomfortable and impatient with me on the floor. Sigh�oh well, I�m not gonna let it get to me, it was my first time after all, and I WAS soaked�well at least half soaked. Or perhaps it was the belt buckle after all�ya know mine was nowhere near as big as that guy�s at the door�.

So�what have yall learned today (or last night for that matter)?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com