Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2002-07-01 - 10:49 a.m.

Good Morning all!

I certainly hope that yall had a good weekend! I know that I did.

Sunday I got to do something that I haven�t had the chance to do in a very long time (read about 7 years). I played Frisbee! I had forgotten how much I loved tossing the ole disk around. I was stunned that I could still do it, you know throw the thing straight, get it to fly to the intended person without having them run like a bandit to catch the durned thing. Granted I had to play with a bunch of kids in order to get my fix...but hey, nothing wrong with that! Shame more adults don�t take the time to play with the youngens. I know that had adults not played with me as a kid, I wouldn�t have had much of a chance to play with anyone. When I was a young, I was one of the only kids in my Mom�s social circle. Well to get to the point, I had a very strange flashback while playing with these kids. I was of me as a child being taught how to throw a Frisbee. I think that just about every adult I knew tried to show me how to throw that evil disk. But in the mean time, they would chase my wild off target throws, and send that disk back to me straight as an arrow. The never quit playing, and they never excluded me from their reindeer games. Granted, it wasn�t till they got one of those fancy Frisbees with an open center, that I could throw the thing nice and straight. So here I am, some 20 (gack!) years later, doing the same thing they did, with another bunch of kids. Trying my hardest to explain to them, how to throw that evil disk. They got better as the light waned�but they never did quite get it. So Yeah, I spent a lot of time running and chasing that blue beast. Never once complaining, and always laughing and encouraging those 4 other kids�Maybe one day they will remember this as they do the same thing for another group of up and coming Frisbee tossers. We can only hope.

Curse my Uncle! (ok, not really) But he has gotten me bit with the bike bug again! I had thought I had grown out of that. I thought I had put aside that foolishness�but noooo�And now, I cant get bikes outta my head. They are everywhere here. Big ones, little ones, fast ones, and cruisers�So what do I do. I go online and look at what is new. Stupid, Stupid, STUPID! But now I have to have one. Sigh�Just what I need too, another hole to throw what little money I have in. Oh well�What is the point of having money, if you don�t have fun with it right?�er�yeah, right. So, after the SHO is back on the road, and running reliably, I will look into getting one. Maybe�but then who knows, by then I may get this outta my system. Hmm�but then there is always Kevin�s bike, and in a month or so I could afford that. Hmmm�.bike�..

Gotta admit, I am really looking forward to this week. I only have 2 classes to teach, AND I have the 4th and the 5th off. I guess working for the City really does have it�s benefits. Pay aint great, but the time off is wonderful!

So what am I going to do with my time? Well�not what I had originally planned, which was go canoe the new river, hang with friends, an d drink lots of Guinness at the Cellar, after which I was going to head up to Harrisonburg to go see Little Feat play (that plan got axed, because as you all already know, the SHO is not back on the road yet�). Instead, Puckeater is coming to fetch my sorry no car havin ass, and drag me back to Richmond, where we are going to some big picnic, lots of music, Frisbee tossin, howitzer shooting, fireworks watchin, city wide party! I can�t wait.

Well back to more development work. I am now in the process of designing my PowerPoint class handouts. Sigh�What a major PITA�Oh well. A good class handout makes things a million times easier. I can�t stand having to repeat myself a million times while folks try to take notes. Maybe if I lectured every day, it would be different, but with these stand alone classes it makes all the difference. Sides all my handouts are designed to work as a tutorial for the specific program, so when they forget how to do something, they can just go back to the handout (that is if they haven�t lost it) and it will walk them through the steps for completing the task. (ok that was boring�not sure why I felt the need to include that little bit-o info)

So today I learned that the Frisbee was originally a pie tin that folks used to throw around. To be specific, it was the pie tins from the Frisbee pie company�Folks took to throwing the empty tins about, after they found out how nicely they flew�So how cool is that?

So�what have you learned today?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com