Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2002-06-06 - 3:45 p.m.

Well shit howdy�

I found this while surfing around today and I couldn't pass it up. It really sums up how I feel today.

It is Thursday morning, and I am ready to go home already, hmm�probably not much different from the rest of yall. I keep telling myself that all I need to do is make it through today, and before I know it I will be off for MD to hang out with friends and attend the wedding of a good friend.

On the way into work this morning I saw the damnedest thing. There was one of those �hard core� bikers on their way to work who decided that the rules of the street did not apply to them. See this fellah ran a red light while turning left at a fairly busy intersection. Of course he came real close to getting hit, but had the audacity to yell obscenities at the drive of the car who did nothing wrong. Did I mention that the light was so red that we had a green by the time he started into the intersection?

Life these days has been fairly productive these last few days. Every day when I get home from work I promptly change and head out to the forge. There I help out the Badger with whatever project(s) he is working on. Last night I was making socketed spearheads. What I hadn�t realized when I started was that I was working with high carbon steel. Now this is not a bad thing, in fact that is the steel that I wanted to use. But it was when I was about half way through the forming of the socket that the Badger told me that he was going to have to move me up to stainless, cause I was moving this high carbon much too easily. See, it is harder to work low carbon steel than iron, and harder to work high carbon steel than low carbon, and finally stainless is harder to work than high carbon. I attribute it to not knowing that it was high carbon. Oh well�

So for my first socketed spearhead, on a scale from 1-5 with 1 being master quality work, and 5 being beginner�s work (first time making said project) he gave me a 4. #$@%@%*)@#%� Well I guess I am going to have to accept that. But I tell ya that the next one I make�at least a 3�

News on the SHO�My account got debited again�so either they are stealing my money or�my heads are finished. Thank GOD! If that is the case, providing that nothing else goes wrong, I will have my SHO back on the road by this weekend. I can�t wait. I am certainly looking forward to being able to leave town without having to rent a car. (Btw I got a Killer deal on one for this weekend. They gave me a Mustang at compact rates. Lets just hope that they actually have the thing come tomorrow when I pick it up).

So�I am going though TiVO withdrawal. I got my system hooked back up last night minus the TiVO (Genie has it now), and I didn�t know what any of the channels were. I relied on my TiVO to tell me. And then there was this moment where I had to go answer the phone and I went to pause the TV show I was watching�doh�again, no TiVO. No saved programs, no TV guide�bah, this is killin me. I reckon that I am just going to have to save my pennies to get another one. That is provided that my SHO doesn�t bleed me dry.

Well it is getting close to that time of day again�class time, so till tomorrow�

Today I learned that uni-body cars are actually 2 halves (front and back) that are welded together at 1 seam. As a result of that, these cars tend to flex and twist dramatically when cornering, braking, and accelerating. This can be remedied by welding sub frame connectors to the underside of the car. This provides a rigid frame that spans the weld site, providing increased rigidity and stability of the car. You know your body if flexing when you hear creaking and rattling (from the body) when starting, stopping, or cornering.

So�what have you learned today?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com