Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2002-06-13 - 9:47 a.m.

Ever have one of those day when you dread the hours ahead. Not cause something bad is going to happen but because you know NOTHING is going to happen? Yeah that is my day today. I am having to teach my least favorite class today, but that is offset by the fact that my students this week are wonderful. But after that I have 4 hours of�nothing. Nada. I know there are those of you out there who would love to have a day like this now and then, but I am tellin ya, it is tough trying to look busy when you have nothing to busy yourself with.

So tomorrow is my little sisters HS, yes high school, graduation. Yes that makes me 13 years older than her. Yes that means that 13 years ago I graduated form the same school. Man I feel old. So am I excited about this�no. Don�t get me wrong here, I am thrilled for my little sis, and I would do anything that she asked me, but I am not looking forward to going back to my old high school. See I didn�t really like it while I was there, and I am sure that feeling hasn�t changed at all. No I really don�t want to see any of my old teachers, no I don�t want to sit in my old auditorium, no I really just want to leave that part of my life behind me. See I hate small talk. Bullshit talk. You know what I am talking about. When you meet someone again who you really didn�t care for last time you talked, it�s all smiles, and how are you doing�ohh that is wonderful�.how is you family�so what are you doing these days�ya know , really I could give 2 shits about most of those folks. I really don�t care about what they are doing these days�I don�t really care to tell them what I have been doing either. And I certainly don�t want to pretend that I liked or still like them. But society seems to demand that I smile, make stupid small talk and be civil. What I would really like to tell most (not all) of the folks that I interacted with in HS is hmm�.fuck off comes to mind. Am I going to do this though. No. I wouldn�t dare embarrass my sis, or the rest of my family for that matter. And of course I am a civil and polite fellah, so no matter what my brain is screaming�my mouth will be spewing rosy smelling shit, and I will have an election-winning smile upon my face. Tomorrow is my sisters day, not mine, so I will be playing exclusively by her rules.

Today I will be going home after work and learning how to do hot wax injection molding. I can�t wait. Oh and I really ought to get some time on the forge. I think Papa Sneaulf would like some copper knives made. It sounds fun. And of course if nothing else, it is good practice. Every hammer blow is good practice.

Today I learned that even if you have very little control of your body�you are confined to a wheelchair, you cant talk, you have very little motor control of your body, you can still converse with the world using a pointer that is attached to your head. I had a fellah in who fit this bill to a �T�. We talked about Writing web pages, exchanged cool web sites that we found, checked e-mail, and a few other things. I hate to say it, but all of my co-workers were scared of him. Sigh�Little did they know that beneath that body lay a very intelligent mind. Well their loss�I know that when I had finished helping him, I returned to my desk, and when I was asked how thing went with him, I responded with a huge smile, and a �that was too fucking cool for words� (I know, I can�t believe that I said fucking to a co-worker either). I never did get the fellahs name�but I do hope that he comes back again some day.

So�what did you learn today?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com