Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2002-06-10 - 10:00 a.m.

Well�What a weekend�

I reckon that by now, everyone who didn�t know that Jen and Allan were getting married, do now. Congrats guys�Here is to a long happy marriage!

So lemme see�What did I do this weekend? Ahh, I spent time with my Aunt and Uncle! Always a wonderful time! My Uncle was given a �72 xs-2 650 Yamaha motorcycle! You should see him, he is like a little kid again. Poking at it and prodding it. Searching the Internet for parts and dress up items for it. It is really cool to see him get all jazzed up about something like this.

Sunday I spent getting a sunburn at the Celtic festival in Leesburg. There I got to hang out with Ross and Shrew (2 very cool artists), and I got time working the forge for Badger (wore a great big ole blister on my hand though). It is really funny the crowds that are attracted when the anvil begins to ring. They stand there like mesmerized little animals. Mouths hanging open, staring at your every move. It doesn�t matter whether you are pattern welding, or making something as simple as a hook, they are equally enraptured. It is a weird feeling really�Oh and before I forget the �angel of death�(elsworthy) gave me some really great documentation for some everyday blacksmithing items. I can wait to see if I can make em. It ought to be fun really

This weekend I found myself having to rent a car so that I could get about. I figured a little compact would do me fine. Something cheap really, that is what I was aiming for. Well I didn�t get a compact car, I got a Mustang. But the lady who rented the thing for me was nice enuff to give it to me for compact rates (seeing how they had nothing else left). So after my 3-day test drive of this car I learned several things. Thing one this car purrs along at 100mph. Thing 2 it feels like you are going slower than you actually are. Thing 3 when 5 �stangs hook up on 95 and are all headed back to the Tidewater area, they tend to drive real fast, and the rest of the world avoids them like the plague (that was a really cool part of the ride home).

Hmm I guess that I really don�t have much to say today�well and my chain of thought is a bit fractured. Too much stuff going thru my brain at the moment to really write coherently.

So I will leave you with this�

Today I learned that while a solid piece of 24� wide oak is beautiful, structurally it is inferior to edge joined oak of smaller widths. The larger piece will be more inclined to warp and crack than it�s smaller counterparts.

So�what have you learned today?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com