Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2002-05-07 - 9:20 a.m.

My latest project at the forge is a cable knife.

Talk about a very neat thing. Basically what I did (under the guidance of the badger) was take a length of 2.5 inch steel cable (90 point steel, which is a high carbon steel) and forge weld it into a solid piece for the blade, and for the pommel. The handle area I left as cable, I just packed the strands real tight so they don�t catch your hand. Keep in mind that forge welding high carbon steel is the hardest material to weld in the blacksmithing world�or so I am told. Well my welds were great! Not perfect, but very good. After welding the cable I had to then draw out the blade length. To do this I squared up my material, and er�well drew it out. Made it longer. Then turning the stock on the edge (remember it is a square at the moment) I began to shape the blade. All I have left is the final grinding and polishing now. Perhaps after that is done I will post a picture of this thing to d-land.

So I am told that stress brings on all sorts of ailments. I am beginning to believe this. At work yesterday I was sitting at my desk doing my own thing, when all of a sudden my back seized up. Smack dab in the middle of my back has gotten rock hard, and hurts like a SOB. I ran a percussion massager on it, and it did feel better but only for a little bit, and then it felt like a balloon as it began to tighten up again. Bah�and the soonest that I could get in to see the doctor was Friday morning. Bah�.again. And now to top it all off I think I am getting a cold. I swear I feel like I am standing in the middle of a shit storm, and I can�t find any cover.

Update on the SHOpera. No news. My mechanic is not sure where the leak is either. Man this really blows.

Well it is getting close to class time, so I reckon that I ought to go prepare for it.

Laters�

This just in...the storm has offially gotten worse. I have news on the SHO. The heads did not seat. Therefore there is a leak between the water jacket and cumbustion chamber. What does this mean. Well the $400 engine that I got is worthless to me right now. Which blows. It also means that I have to come up with the cash to get the org. heads rebuilt, and then put back on. Looks like it will be months before I have a car that I can leave the area with. Why can I get a fucking break these days? Also I have easily the stupidest folk come in to my lab just now. All of them are comp. challenged. 1 lady was all bless you, Jesus this, God that...I frowned at her and told her that I perfer to read Buddahist writings. She frowned...Then there is the couple that can't figure out how to type. Andlastly the girl who is trying to send email to a person by logging in to hotmail with the recipients email address. Oh and finally there is the bligerent lady with the screaming kid. I have rarely met someone so rude... sigh...when will it all end?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com