Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2002-05-03 - 2:20 p.m.

Got my SHO back to day�for the second time. What happened you ask? Well lemme tell you�

***********WARNING: Car Techno Babble :WARNING***********

Where shall I start? Ok, yall know about the 2 day job becoming a 2 week job. The cams (yes all 4 of them) had gotten totally fucked. See I found out that not only were the cams improperly installed, but�the early stage 1 cams had some flaws. Guess what. I had those flawed cams. But this is not problem really. See, I just went to my local junkyard got myself a fucked engine (one with bottom problems, this one had a spun bearing). I then proceeded to pull the heads off it, check their tolerances, and then install them on my good engine. Again, not a hard job. In fact I did a lot of the work during my lunch break at work. Note that My buddy Brian did put a lot of this thing back together for me because of time issues, but I was there to do most of the work. Well wed I go and pick up my car, drive it around and I am happy. Very happy. That is until 11:30 at night, coming home form the local sca meeting, a terrible thing happened. Lemme explain. Engines have this thing called a timing belt/chain/gear depending on the engine. Mine has a belt. Now this thing is what turns the cams. So on the front of the engine are 3 �gears�. The crank, and 2 cam �gears�. As the crank turns it moves the belt, which turns the cams, which open and close the valves. Well on my way home one of those cam gears fell off. Thank god I do not have an interference engine (the piston will hit the valve if it is open). So the gear fell off, then the belt came off and the car just stopped. So it is push time. I get the car to a safe place, and then proceed to walk home. It is 12:30 when I get home. So what do I do�well knowing that it was tax night I figured that Genie�s folks would still be up, and I called George (her dad). This will be 3 times that he has come and fetched me in the middle of the night with car troubles. Have I ever mentioned how much I like this guy. Even if he didn�t help me move my car to a better place at 1:00 in the morning, he would still be among my favorite folk in the world. Perhaps he will get his own entry here one day�any how, George, the Badger, and I pushed the car about a mile to a safe resting spot to it could be towed the following morning. The gear was replaced, the belt replaced, the engine re-timed�and today during lunch I drove the beast home. Joking, my buddy Brian told me to try to keep it running at least for 2 days this time. BAH! But regardless of all this crap�I still love my car. And today it is running wonderfully. Better than it did 2 weeks ago that is for sure. So a few more days of driving around town (don�t want to go outta towing range) and I should be good to go for a trip. I cant wait. I love it here, but I gotta get away from it for a few days�

On another note�my Jeep started making this weird noise today�hmm perhaps it is time for a rebuild�

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com