Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2002-05-01 - 9:33 a.m.

Good morning world!

The SHO will be finished today, even if it kills me. I have been without this car for close to 3 weeks now, and considering I have only had it for 6, that is kinda depressing. The heads are back on, the fuel rail is hooked up, the intake is back in place, now all that needs to be done is flush the coolant system, change the oil, and transmission fluid, and I am good to go. At least till I am ready to replace the cams. Man I love cars.

In other news�Things at home are going smooth. I am once again looking for a house, only this time it is for a much smaller one. In fact what I am really looking for is more like a garage with a detached house. That would really make me happy. But we shall see. I have gotten tired of doing all the leg work for finding this place by myself and have decided that I am going to enlist the help of a opossum dog�er real estate agent to help me find a home that I can/will be happy with. And of course with that in mind, I have chosen to stay in the Norfolk area, at least for now. I gotta tell ya, I really love the water. Now all I need to do is convince all my friends that they need to live here too.

I will be starting work on a blacksmith shop in 2 weeks. This ought to be exciting. First, because I have never built a building before, and second because I will have a shop that I can once again work in. Now I can�t take all, or really any credit for this place going up. It is all the work of Badger. Yeah, Badger the blacksmith guy. I am excited by the implication of this though. With a shop going up it means that he will be staying in the area, and he will need an apprentice. Funny thing about working with Badger, in the shop I like to be alone so that I can do my own thing, but having Badger means that I can learn new things constantly. It is a tough trade off. No really, I mean that. I admit that he pushes me hard, and expects a lot from me. Which is fine, frustrating sometimes, because I don�t feel that I am ready to try some of the things that he shows me, but I trust that he knows what he is doing. And of course more often than not the things that he has me do turn out nicely.

This leads me to a different line. I went shooting on Monday. I went out to the local range with my buddy (who is almost as much of a gun nut as some other friends of mine) and did some target work. I was shooting a little .22 ruger auto. I think that is what it is called. I was shooting at 7 meters ( I think) at a target about the size of a tennis ball. Now keep in mind that I have never �learned� how to shoot properly. I can make a gun go bang, clean it, and be safe with it, but I have never had anyone teach me the proper way to shoot. Till now that is. By my 3rd target I was getting groups about the size of the palm of my hand, mostly in the orange part of my target. Now this pissed me off. It was a close target, good size, I should be better than that. Then I looked at what the other folk in the range were doing. Next to me was a dude shootin a 9mm something at a people shaped target�about 10x the size of my little orange dot, and for every shot that hit the �person� one missed. Did I mention that his target was as close as mine. Now I thought that this was just and anomaly, but upon inspecting the other shooters targets (who were all shooting 9mm and up guns) I found that their groupings were HUGE! And here I was pissed that I couldn�t get all my shots to all land within an area the size of my palm. I think that I may be a bit too hard on my self sometimes.

Just got some wonderful news�looks like I will be working this weekend. Sunday to be specific. BAH! The good side to that though is I would get to go home soon. Instant gratification. But I know that I will not be nearly as happy about this come Sunday.

Well I reckon that I ought to get my crap together and get ready to go home.

More to come�

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com