Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2002-04-23 - 9:49 a.m.

It has been 13 day since I last put �pen to paper�.

It has been 13 days since I last had something to write about. Which, for those of you who know what has been going on in my life, probably find that odd.

Much has changed for me. My �little� sister turned 18. My little brother got his drivers license. I tackled an enormous job with my SHO. And I am no longer married. (Well legally, I guess that I still am)

It seems strange that the lady that I spent the last 6 years of my life with is no longer the first face I see in the morning. It is now my dog Casey, or Badger (ugh�what a trade there!). I guess that it is true that sometimes folks just grow apart. Perhaps there is such a thing as getting married too early. I dunno, but regardless I figured that the world ought to know. I wanted yall and Genie to know that there are no ill feelings. I find it strange that so many people have told me it is amazing how well I am taking this. But I wonder what other way there is to take it. To accept what has happened, to remember the good times that were had, and to move on seems like the only reasonable solution that there is. Why dwell on things that you have no control over, or cannot change. It will only make things worse. At least that is what I think. Now don�t get me wrong here, I am not happy that this has happened. But at the same time I wont let it control my life. I hate to say it but that which does not kill me WILL make me stronger. Life will continue to move on with or with out me, and so I had to make the decision to look forward to the new day and what it will bring, or be constantly looking back, unhappy and questioning. In my mind, that was an easy choice to make.

To my friends�thank you for being there. For being concerned. For being understanding.

To Genie�Thank you for the good times that we had. And yes perhaps we can remain friends.

Now on to fun and exciting things (for me at least)

I jumped in and tackled the 60k maintenance work on my SHO. This includes thing like removal of the intake, adjusting the valve lash, replacing the timing belt, water pump, front main seal, crank position sensor, thermostat, temp sender, plugs, wires, and a few other things that I have most likely forgotten about. Now in a perfect world this is a job that should have taken me no more than 2 day to finish. But being that this is not a perfect world and that if things did go smoothly I would never trust my work, I ran in to some problems. The SHO has a dual over head cam with 24 valves. That means that there are 4 camshafts, each of which are responsible for opening and closing 6 valves. I hope I am not boring you yet�

My SHO had after market cams put on it to increase power. Unfortunately the folks who did the work did it wrong. And this means that my cams were chewed up all to hell. THIS IS BAD! Very bad. Also very expensive to fix. Cams alone run $600. So while I save up the money for replacing the cams, I decided to take a gamble. I bought a junk yard engine, in hopes that the heads were in good shape (this is the piece that holds the cams and valves, and bolts to the top of the engine block). As luck would have it my used engine did have good heads, and I am spending my lunch hour finishing up the swap. I am hoping to have the thing back on the road by Friday. I will keep yall posted if you are interested. I release that most of you though could care less about cars though. Especially fixing em.

Well it is getting close to class time, and I ought to look at what I am teaching for today. I will talk more later, I promise.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com