Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2003-03-07 - 10:05 a.m.

I haven�t been in this good of a mood in days�.

Knock Knock�

Who�s there?

Islanders Goalie (Snow)�.

Snow Wh�Bruins SCORE!!!!

Knock Knock�

Who�s there?

Islanders Goalie�.

Islanders Goal�..

BRUINS SCORE!!!!

Knock Knock�

Who�s there?

Nobody�.

Nobody wh�

BRUINS SCORE!!!! AND IT�S A HAT TRICK FOR McInnis!!!!!!

We are now Tied for 7th. This is the first back to back win that we have had since�DECEMBER! And I got to watch the game on T.V. Ahhh�it has put a smile on my face that I am sure will stay with me for the rest of the day. Now here�s hoping that the Bruin�s can do it again tomorrow when the face the Caps�


So it has been quite a few days since I last wrote. That is not a common thing for me during the week�but I have to admit, I just haven�t had anything that wasn�t whiney to write about. I mean really guys�I am just sitting here idling until my March 31st fly date. Perhaps I will have more to say when I get to SF.

So yesterday I actually came this close to loosing my temper at work. I even came close to blows with these 4 little shits who came into the library looking to start trouble. Last night we were SLAMMED here. there were only 2 of us here, and I was already feeling poorly and tired�so that didn�t help at all. But to get to the point�I had 4 late teen (17 or so) boys come into the library. It was very obvious that they were bored and were looking to create some fun�lucky me. The wander into my lab and begin hassling the younger kids. Now I didn�t see this right away because I was busy working at the circulation desk�BUT when I did catch on to what was happening I headed to the lab. As soon as they saw me coming they decided it would be funny to cut off the lights in there and exit the lab. Here is what happened after that.

Me: Cute fellahs�you can just keep on walking right out of this library now.

Them: Why? I ain�t done nuttin.

Me: Look don�t play me for a fool�you know the rules of the lab. If you aren�t on a computer, you can�t be hanging out back there. Let alone turning off the lights�that is just juvenile.

Them: We was just wantin to sign up for a computer.

Different Them: I ain�t turn off no lights�

Me: Well�after seeing that I was not back there to sign you up, you should have exited the lab and come to the desk to sign up�right? And I didn�t point you out for turning off lights, I am pointing to the lot of ya. Now leave�

Them: I didn�t know that�

Me: Sure ya did. You come to this library all the time. You know the rules. Now�you can leave for today, or if I have to speak again you can leave for a week!

-Here is where the punk kids get belligerent�

Them: I ain�t goin nowhere this is my library not your white man�You want me out you put me out.

Me: (Raising my voice) You WILL leave now! I will not tolerate this kind of respect from you understand! Now get out.

Them #1: Thinks it would be cool to try and shoulder me aside as he tries to exit�and then responds �Get off me homes�!�

Me: (Having totally lost my shit now�I know bad Bear. I should have never let them get a rise out of me. And in that cold voice that says Bear is now Very angry says�) �That one�s free boy�next time you touch me, or threaten me someone gets broken�and it isn�t going to be me. Now get the fuck out of my library you little shit�and if I see you back here at all today, I am skipping right over security and I will have the police here do you understand?�

Them: They look at each other�and one responds with � yeah right honkie (I didn�t know that word was still being used)��and they leave.

Have I mentioned that I hate my job? I should not have to discipline these kids�it is not my job. But I cannot stand by and let this little dick, and his3 balls run all over my branch. I understand that perhaps they are looking for attention, or a feeling of control in a world where they feel controlled�but it is not going to happen here. Sigh�I don�t care about the racial stuff really. I have had to deal with it at this branch since I started working here a year ago. But just cause I�m white and they resent my presence here doesn�t mean that I am going to let folks think that they can disrespect me. And I certainly won�t stand by while these teens move about in their little packs attempting to impose their rule on others.

Yeah I know if word of this made it uptown, I would most likely get fired today. But honestly, I wouldn�t care. These kids don�t act like this in school�they are not going to act like this at the library. These kids need to learn that there are rules�and yes�even they need to follow them, and if they don�t, then they will be held accountable for their actions.

Yeah�there were better ways for me to handle this situation�I didn�t handle it very well at all�and in fact my confrontational approach most likely made things worse�I know that, and I have no excuse other than I was tired, stressed, and�well �over all the bullshit.

Ya know�Fuck it�I almost hope they fire me. That would give me 3 weeks to fuck off and work my heart out at the forge before I leave for San Francisco.


Today I learned that Just cause a forge weld looks good�it doesn�t guarantee anything. Sigh�It will be ok though. I still think I will be able to fix it�I hope I can fix it. I spent a fair amount of time working on the piece of pattern weld�I sure don�t want to loose it.

So what have you learned today?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com