Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2003-03-10 - 11:01 a.m.

This last weekend was quite a whirlwind�Too much fun, Not enough time.

Friday after work found Vlad and me in the SHO zooming up to Richmond to hang out/geek with friends for the evening (an evening that I didn�t manager to get home from until 4:00 am Saturday morning!). That was fine though. I was a good time�and I have to admit, the drive from Richmond at 3:00 am is really quite nice. There is no traffic, and in fact there are no cars on the road until you get within a few miles of Williamsburg, and from there on out I think I came across only a dozen other late night (early morning?) travelers.

-Vlad �I don�t get it�I mean what in the world are all these people doing driving around at such an ungodly hour?�

-Me �Um Vlad�we�re one of those people.�

-Vlad �Oh�yeah. Right. Never mind then.�

4:30 am saw me rolling into bed�ahhh beautiful, comfortable, welcome sleep�and exactly 3 and a half-hours I was cursing the light and the clock because I could not sleep any more. Sigh�I sure wish I knew why I am unable to sleep past 8:00 am. It is a curse or something�I just don�t get it. Once upon a time when I was a slacker college student I could sleep till noon�but those days are long past. Sigh�

But since I was awake I figure I might as well make the best of everything, so I rolled out of bed, began opening up the house (cause it was quickly becoming a beautiful day) and started cleaning. Yeah�first I did when I rolled out of bed was to start cleaning�I�m a freak. But Christ, you should have seen the place. It was a hole�and I had family coming to visit tomorrow.

After that it was time to go have some fun. So Vlad and I pulled the top off of the Jeep and headed off to run errands. A trip to the bank and the comic shop (for B-day presents)�and lastly to the local Jeep dealership. See there is a new Jeep on the market that I had to go check out. It is the Wrangler Rubicon package. Now this is supposed to be one hard core beast. Dana 44 limited slip front and rear ends, quadra-coil suspension, and an engine that generates 80% of its torque at idle rpm�s. I just had to see if it was better than my 83 CJ-7 (A real Jeep as opposed to these Chrysler things that they are trying to pass for Jeeps)�cause wanted to see if it made more sense to just buy a Rubicon as opposed to going through the hassle of rebuilding my current Jeep. Well lets just say that after test driving this thing�my CJ has nothing to worry about. The Rubicon, priced at a healthy 28k was in many ways inferior to my CJ. AND for 15k I could do a frame off restoration on my CJ, have an engine custom built that out performs the Rubicon�s (and still get better gas mileage), and get a hard top and steel doors for it. I think I am going to go for the Restoration of my current baby. The new ones just don�t out perform my CJ enough to make it worth paying all the extra $$$ to have one.

So after a morning of cleaning and an afternoon of vegging and running errands, it was time to gather up the posse and get ready for an evening of Sushi and birthday celebrating goodness.

So I wrangled up Vlad, Evja, Pwincess and we headed off to meet GrammaCait and the MiniVan Samurai.

In hand were Presents for the 2 Birthday kids (MiniVan Samurai and Pwincess)�For the Pwincess it was books (she really likes books�almost to the extent that the Book-girl does)�not as exciting as say a CombatBoot Mary! With Kung-Fu action grip, Real asskicking, simulated leather, all-terrain Combat Boots, And matching accessories (like a genuine leather purse, cute dangle ear-rings, and a 150mm cannon mounted on a turbo enhanced mobile chassis for removing annoying obstacles from her path�).

And for the MiniVan Samurai we brought him, an Apollo Action figure (to go with GrammaCaits Midnighter�Heros from The Authority comic�a fantastic read btw), the Engineer Action figure (which I might add stimulated quite the conversation�ask Gramma about it sometime) an Alfred E. Newman in a Batman costume (Which was just too funny�considering MiniVan Samurai likes Batman even more than the PuckEater does) Batman Party hats, Foam Bat-a-rangs, and targets to go with em (I think that the Bat-a-rangs were quite a hit! Hehehe)

After a very enjoyable dinner we went back to the GrammaCait Lair and sat about eating b-day cake and geeking for the rest of the evening. And man was it a rough night�I got my ass handed to me twice that night playing GO. Ugh�

So once again it was a late night�and around 1:00 am I finally rolled on into bed. Ahh�sweet, wonderful sleep�and then 7:00 am saw me cursing the light.

So I roused myself from bed and puttered around the house waiting for my family to show up�.and I waited�and waited�and waited. Finally around 1:00pm I gave my Mom a call to see what was going on, only to find out that she and my little sister were bailing on us. Seems that they both managed to land themselves with a case of strep throat or something. So my Step Dad and little brother came by themselves. Around 2:30 pm they rolled in, and we puttered about the house again for a bit�(my little bro is amazing, he was not in the house 5 minutes before he found the tub of cookie dough that I amazingly have at the house every time he comes to visit�hehehe.) and then headed off to watch the Admirals (the local AHL hockey team) play at Scope. What a game. The Phantoms won 2-0�It was neat though cause neither my Step Dad nor my little Bro had ever been to a hockey game. And My Step Dad who can be a total curmudgeon even found him self hollering and carrying on come the third period. I�m tellin ya�hockey is infectious. Speaking of which�Whew�My poor Bruins, had their 3 game winning streak stopped by the Blackhawks�5-8. Man alive that must have been a nasty game.

Well anyhow, after the game we headed over to Planet Music so my little Bro could cash in on his x-mas present, and by 8:30 pm they were back on the road headed for home�and Vlad and I�well we looked like the walking dead by this time. Beds were calling.

All of which leads me to today. I am in my last week at this Branch�ahh I feel so free. Especially since on the 13th I get to go to Hampton for training instead of working here�hehehe.

It looks like I am going to be on that plane before I know it. I am so excited�but at the same time I have to admit�the butterflys are starting to set in.

So today I learned that there are some amazingly funny things to be found out there on the internet�and this is one of them. Now I will warn ya first�it is TOTALLY boy humor. Fart Jokes and the like so be warned�but I swear, I nearly snotted myself when I saw it yesterday. Have fun�

Check out this Matrix spoof

So�what have you learned today? Any thing fun at all?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com