Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2002-02-04 - 12:12 p.m.

So I had an interesting conversation last night on the way home from a Super Bowl party.

Well actually many of the conversations on that drive home, but one in particular struck me.

At one point during the ride home I blurted out the following question.

�Is your mind ever quiet? Or are you almost always thinking about something?�

Needless to say my question was greeted by an initial moment of silence, and then both parties in the car told me that they in fact were always thinking about something. Even when they didn�t want to, like when they go to bed, or first thing when they wake up. After the 2 talked about it a bit the asked me if my mind was ever quiet.

Well in fact, it is quiet most of the time�

I find myself thinking about anything in particular, and often-about nothing at all�

Here is an example. When I drive to and from work all that goes through my mind are things that I notice around me. My drive home from work takes me across the Lafayette river. I have crossed that river over and over and over, but every time I do, I notice something. I don�t think about what I see, I just see it. Like this last Friday, when I was returning home I noticed the color of the setting sun on the water. I noticed the smell of the water. I heard the sound that my Jeep made as I was crossing the bridge. I saw the ripples made in the water by the tide, and the fish. I felt the crispness to the air as it blew through the door of my Jeep (Yes it was 50 degrees and I had the doors off of my Jeep). And then I had crossed the bridge. And it was then something else that I saw, or felt or heard�

I guess I really don�t know where I am trying to go with this. I am just curious as to whether other folks have quiet minds; whether they drive�s to and from work are anything like mine�

Something to think about today�

Beginning the day, I see that life is a miracle. Attentive to each moment, I keep my mind clear like a calm river.

Thich Nhat Hanh

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com