Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2003-02-20 - 10:01 a.m.

Today is going to be such a long one. I am looking at another 11 hours of Library hell�ho boy�can you tell I�m excited?

It seems that lately I have all these great ideas that I want to write about, but when it finally comes time to sit down and put pen to paper�er�fingers to keys, all those ideas dry up. I just don�t get it. Is it that I just don�t have anything to talk about? I dunno�


So last night was Gym night�and Vlad and I worked on legs. A workout that is much more satisfying than doing upper body stuff, mostly because I can lift much heavier weights and do more reps. Well anyhow, Vlad and I decided to try out these two machines that are�well scary.

First off I have only ever seen women using these 2 machines�not that there is anything wrong with that. But then there is the overall�I dunno�weirdness. The first machine is designed to work out your inner thighs. So imagine with me for a second�you are sitting on a bench with your feet in stirrups (yeah those kind�not the ones normally associated with saddles), and the object of the game is to squeeze your legs together. Did I mention that this machine is MUCH more flexible than I am? So here I am�sitting in this thing with visions of groin pulls dancing through my head�oh and did I mention that this evil contraption also does a great job of putting your package on display? Sigh�how embarrassing. So anyway�I climb into this thing, trying my best to retain a shred of my manliness and squeeze. Imagine my surprise when I about shoot the stack of weight off the top of the machine. Hmm I think to my self�50 pounds is obviously not enough weight. But that is what the last person was lifting here�and every time I have seen a person working out with this machine (but you can�t watch too much cause they will think you�re a perv or something) they seem to be really struggling. Well I shrug and ask Vlad to up the weight to 80 pounds or something. And again it was too light. So we upped it to 100�and again, too light. So I tell Vlad�screw it man�put everything the machine has on there (150 pounds) and we can work down from that. And guess what�it took some 20+ reps to actually feel my muscles begin to burn. So several sets later we moved to the next machine, which was the exact opposite of the last one. On this gizmo the object was to spread your legs apart. Now being that we are smart fellahs, and having learned form the last machine that we are totally buff�we push the weight to the max (again 150 pounds), and run across the same frustrations that we had with the last machine. There was just not enough weight to really work out our muscles�so we went again for high reps�Ya do the best ya can with the tools you have right?

Well the rest of the workout went well enough. Driving home was a real bitch (the clutch in the Jeep is VERY stiff) and by the time I got home my legs were happy to veto any walking about. So I guess all in all it was a good workout. I can�t wait till Friday�upper body and more cardio. I have learned the misery that is the elliptical thingy. Fun workout once you get the rhythm down�but damn it kicks your ass�it is like running but not. Woo hoo�


Well that is it for now�class is ready to start so I had best get ready�

Today I learned that Colossus is finally being treated with some respect�

In the latest Ultimate series we see our happy little Russian kicking the ever loving crap out of Iron Man AND Thor�I believe the comment was�Well he has been beating the crap out of Thor for a good 10 minutes now�hehehehe�

So what have you learned today?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com