Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2002-02-14 - 2:52 p.m.

Well ok Bryce, you started this�

Lets get in to the way back machine, and travel to the early 80�s. It was the 7th grade. And I had the biggest crush on the girl next door�yes you heard me right. The girl next door. Her name was Kate, and she was at the time the most beautiful girl I had ever seen.

I had known Kate for going on a year now. She was my bud, we hung out a lot, and played air hockey, Atari, and basketball�you name it. Between her and my bud Paul, I would say it was one of the best times of my life (being that at the tender age of 13 I had experienced SO much of what life had to offer). That was until Valentines Day.

See by this time Kate knew how I felt about her, and I hate to say it, but looking back on things now, I think she used that to her advantage. She knew that I would love to take her to the movies�out to lunch, or whatever. Yeah I knew somewhere in the back of my mind that she was using me, but we were still friends, and there was always the potential for more.

So there I was, home from school on that marvelous day of love. There was close to 3 feet of snow on the ground, and school had been canceled for the last 2 days, and it looked like we would have at least another 2 days off ahead of us. It was around 10 am. and I was watching TV (a favorite past time of mine, while I was waiting for my slacker friends to get out of bed), when someone came a knocking at my door. A bit surprised that anyone would be up at this early hour, I shut off the TV and went and opened the door. And who to my surprise was standing there? It was Kate. Radiant in her beauty, standing there in the snow, the sun reflecting off her hair�(told ya I had it bad for her). Surprised I invited her in, and asked her what was up.

With a smile upon her lips she came into the house, and sat down with me as I began to put my shoes on. Kate, showing me more affection than normal (it was valentines day after all) asked me if I would go for a walk with her. Well this was a no brainer friends. I rushed along got my things together, threw on my jacket (which btw I had secreted Kate�s Valentine�s present) and proceeded out of the house with her. As we were passing her house Kate told me that she wanted to show me something neat that she had found in her back yard near their new wood shed, so being thrilled even be out walking around with her on Valentines day, I didn�t care where we went. I was just happy to be with her.

As she led me into the back yard of her house, she told me to climb a sand pile that they had there. She said that from the top of it I would have a perfect view of the surprise that she had there for me. As I climbed the pile she directed me to look back into the woods near the wood shed. What I didn�t notice was that as I climbed the pile she backed away.

I reached the top, strained my eyes in the direction that she had indicated, and heard her say �NOW� in a rather loud voice. At that very moment, half a dozen other kids from the neighborhood sprang from their hiding places and began to pelt me with snowballs. I was hit from all directions, including the one where Kate lay. And then in the blink of an eye it hit. The ice ball�hit me right in the face. Bloodied my nose, and split open my lip. By this time the reality of what had happened had sunk in. I had been set up. As I turned to flee the ambush, I stumbled and fell off the mound, and was rewarded with the laughing and jeers of my attackers. As I pulled myself up outta the snow, I turned looked once at Kate, and fled. As I did so the Valentines Day present that I had gotten for her fell from my pocket.

Once home, I went to my room, and reflected on what had just happened. I dwelt on it, and just sat there�hurt.

Some hours later Kate came to the house to see if I was all right. I am surprised that I was able to answer the door, let alone let her in. She told me that she had come to apologize and to thank me for the kind present. I didn�t say anything. I just looked at her. And then finally asked her to leave.

It was several weeks before I was able to talk to her again, but what ever magic that used to be there (real, or not), was gone. I can�t remember ever really hanging out with her again, and then by late that summer my family had moved.

I never did catch up with her again.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com