Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2002-02-13 - 1:29 p.m.

Today I learned something new. Well In fact everyday I try to learn something new.

Being that I am again becoming hard core about loosing weight (its hard to fight well when yer so fat your armor doesn�t fit right), I have been searching and searching for an alternative to my lunch time blues. Subway, while low in points, has left me completely uninspired, and unfortunately all the other food places around me are big point joints. You know the types I�m talkin about�KFC yummm� Hardee�s�ooohhh �Dumars (A fantastic drive in that has the best shakes and greasy burgers and bbq�.), and of course Pizza Hut. Needless to say, I can blow all 30 points in a sitting at any of these places and still walk away hungry. So this led me to my new quest for good food that doesn�t taste like crap.

Just recently I found Sushi�or more specifically sashimi. Boy do I like that stuff�filling, tasty, and as Kevin the sushi chef (?) at Nara Sushi says, it is full of good enzymes. How can I argue with that? Well I decided to go looking up the damage for this wonderful food in my handy dandy book of points�and�OMG!�I cant eat enuff sushi to equal the points of a big �ole fat Hardee�s burger! Lunch today�8 points. That included soup, tea, sushi, and rolls. Well this is just the prelude to my learning something today�At the restaurant they had Sumo wrestling on. Now I have never watched this in my entire life, and I must admit I was fascinated by it. I watched a Huge sumo man get beaten very quickly by a smaller lad of a bout half his size. Hmm�I guess that this means that at least in sumo, size is not every thing. I only wish the commentary had been in English. Hmm I think they need pop up Sumo. It is working for hockey� So if anyone out there understands the sport please let me know. I would love to learn a bit more about it.

I also learned today that people often talk like they are open minded, but often they are not. In the library that I work at, I am the only Caucasian. Now this does not matter to me at all. Be patient I am getting to my point. See the other day the ladies were ordering some soul food from around the corner, and they didn�t ask me if I wanted to order with them cause�well I�m white, and well all know white folk don�t eat soul food. Well that is CRAP! See I am a very open minded fellah, who is willing to try just about anything, so I put in my order of collards, pigs feet, and some liver and onions. They couldn�t believe it. In fact when the food got there I felt like I was on display, because of all the folks who were coming by to see this white boy eating a �hoof�. I�m not really sure why this caused such a stir. I gotta tell ya though, I was unimpressed by the foot, it wasn�t nasty, but in my opinion it would be better used in cooking other dishes. The collards were fantastic!, and the liver and onions were some of the best that I have ever had. After my co-workers found out what my reaction to this food was, it spurred a conversation about ethnic food. I basically boiled down to being open minded about the foods that you try, and that you truly cannot judge something until you have tried it. Now of course they all agreed that they were in fact open minded and willing to try anything at least once. So today I brought back some California rolls for them to try from my new found sushi restaurant. They won�t touch it. None of em. Oh well�I guess I really ought not complain, It really just means that there is more for me.

Thought for the day:

Do you make it a point to try and learn something new everyday?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com