Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2005-02-11 - 11:10 a.m.

Can you believe it?
I actually have something to write about!

Yesterday was my very first spinning class�OMG�yeah, it kicked my ass. Big time. It was 45 minutes of unadulterated pain, and had we been on the road, I would have been dropped by the rest of the pack like a bad habit. Guess that is what I get for taking an Ultimate spin (read for advanced spinners) to start with�But, I never stopped�I slogged up every hill, and did my best in the sprints and for 25 minutes I was actually ok�but then I hit the wall. And oh was it a big solid wall. But I kept spinning and spinning and spinning.

It was painful, exhausting, and miserable (at times)�heh�and there is a class today at 6:30 that I am going to. Hehehe�guess that I am just a sucker for punishment these days.

And yeah that punishment carries over to lifting now as well. Do you know what a strip set is? Yeah�a strip set is designed to cause you as much pain and suffering as possible I think. But man do you feel good when you are done.

Let�s give you and example. Dumbbell curls�3 sets each set broken into 3 parts. Part 1 40 pound dumbbells 12 reps�drop em grad the 30 pounders and try for 12�drop em and grab the 20 pounders and try for 12. Do this 3 times. I tell ya�it is funny to see a burley fellah like me straining to curl 20 pounds�Then after dumbbell strip sets, it is off to strip sets with the bar�and we do it all over again�and then you hurt for 3 days. But it is a good hurt�right?

No real weight loss has occurred yet, but I think that was because I was eating like a fool still (and the workouts have sure increased my appetite)�but that has come to a screeching halt. During the week I have found it to be pretty easy to moderate my eating�and if I keep busy on the weekends it is easy to do then as well. Perhaps soon I will start to see some results. I sure would like to see some results. Oh and I have found a new kitchen toy�it is a Centrifugal juicer. The damn thing is pretty cool really, and I have found that I am juicing everything I can get my hands on. Kale, spinach, carrots, celery, tomatoes�you name it. And I have been getting pretty creative with my mixes�which have varying results, some good and some����not so good. But who cares, I means it is juice�and goes down pretty quick. I really recommend one of these things to everyone. I got mine at Target for like $30�and ya know, aside for the cleanup on the machine, it is easy to use�and well worth the $$$ I paid for it.

Lets see�what else?

Hmm�Work is the same ole same ole. I have a big deadline coming up, and I yet again do not have all the materials to work with to get it done. Sigh�gotta love working for the Gov�t. Another of my co-workers quit the team�so I am now the only one who has actually taught the application. Oh joy�In fact the other 3 members left have less combined time on the project than I do. Bah�Oh and I am now the Courseware Development Project Lead which means fuck all. All the responsibility and no compensation. Oh well�it is a stepping stone and will look good on a resume.

So I have a question for all of yall�What do you know about Boston? I am kicking around the idea of packing up and heading there. I am pretty tired of the DC area�and Virginia as well. I guess the time I spent in Cali has got the travel/move somewhere new and interesting bug in me. So this is a request for real info about Bean Town�
I have heard that it has the 2nd largest percentage of Professional Single Women in the US. That can�t be bad can it? Oh and it is Home to the Bruins�a perk for sure. And before you tell me�yes I know that it gets cold there�and it snows a lot�and it is an expensive place to live (but did you know that real estate is much cheaper there than it is here in DC? I can actually find a single family home there for under 200k). So any how�What can ya tell me about it? Anything�? Buler?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com