Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2003-02-07 - 12:23 p.m.

Well�it looks like I am going to be Westward Bound.

I am currently shooting to leave sometime in March but no later than April. Once there it looks like I will most likely be staying anywhere from 6-12 months�but who knows. That could all change I guess.

I am currently hoping on hanging on to the house in Norfolk if I can (I would rather not pack all my shit in to storage�that would be NO fun what so ever) and leaving the critters with Vlad. Though it is going to hurt A LOT to have to leave Casey behind. Then again, my dad did tell me I could bring him if I wanted to. I am going to have to talk to the Vet about that. I am a little worried about him being loaded into the cargo hold of a plane and flown across the country. He is an old dog (9-10 years) after all. But perhaps that would be less stressful to him than me being gone for so long. I dunno�.

Things ought to be pretty exciting for me in CA. I am going to be basically working for my Pop while I am out there. I will be helping him remodel the Victorian in San Francisco and help him on his continuing project up-country. But the main focus is getting my sorry self into shape. In fact I am hoping that none of yall will recognize me by the time I get back to VA. My life is basically going to consist of good eating (as in healthy) and lots of physical activity. Whether it is hiking about the city, hitting the gym, or working my ass off up country. The goal is to hit 200lbs (or as close to it as I can) and have the same boundless energy and endurance that my Pop has. I am 20 some years younger than him after all�I should be able to keep up.

And here is the cool thing. My pop has made an offer to me to sweeten the deal a bit. If I commit to this 150% and meet my goals in a reasonable amount of time�he has offered to send me back to school (in IT or whatever else I want to pursue�as long as it will help land me a MUCH better job than I can get as a teacher�I can deal with that.) How can I say no to that?

It is going to be rough leaving all of yall behind though. But I just keep reminding myself that it is not going to be forever and that makes it easier to deal with.

I am also a bit bummed about leaving all my smithing stuff behind�but the Pop has mentioned that we might be able to get me a small set up up country. I just need to make sure that I am VERY careful about the whole fire thing up there. It gets REALLY dry in the summer and fire can be a serious threat. I figure that I will be fine if I use a gas forge though and keep my work inside. (there is a chance that I can convince him to let me building a small shop for myself which would rock!) The really neat thing though is he thinks that it could be really nice to have a smith up on the mountain. Folks are always needing specialty items made, or things fixed and what not. I just hope that I am up to the task. I am not the smith that Badger is�

Well anyhow�I need to focus on getting my ducks in a row here before I start thinking about San Fran. I will let yall know more when I know more.


So�how bout them Bruins? They whooped the Habs 6-3�and to make the victory even sweeter, our new goalie Hackett was just traded to us by the Habs�heh�he even played in his old Canadians pads (his new Bruins pads are not broken in yet�).

It is so nice to see the boys pulling themselves out of the nasty pit they dug.


There really is not much for me to say today. It is a nasty rainy Friday and that sucks. I am SO ready for a little bit of nice weather

So on to the learning!

Today I learned that a loose swaybar end link can dramatically change the way a car handles. Seems that right front end link has loosened up at the top mount, which caused the car to hop about when accelerating or to handle a bit strange if the road is rough. But not to worry. 30 seconds with a wrench and it was as good as new again�See this is why it is always best to do your own work on your cars. Do ya really think Jiffy Lube would have noticed that problem if I had let them change my oil? I think not�

So what have you learned today?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com