Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2001-08-20 - 6:15 p.m.

Yesterday was a day I will remember for quite awhile. About a week and a half ago I was contacted by the Chrysler Museum to do a blacksmithing demonstration for them during the grand re-opening of the medieval collection. What an honor �what a stress! I have only been smithing for about a year, and this museum wants me to come do a smithing demonstration for them. I was concerned that my work would not be up to the quality level expected at an event like this. I mean, I have only been doing this sort of thing for a year. There is no way that my work would be good enough for them. Well, was I ever wrong.

The demo was a smashing success (aside from the fact that it took forever for me to get my fire lit and my buddy Jerome lit my display tablecloth on fire � when it rains it pours). The public couldn�t get enough of what I was doing. I had people who stayed and watched me work in the hot and humid sun for half an hour or more. Some even complimented me by saying it was the best demo of its type that they had ever seen. I guess that it just goes to show you that the toughest person to please is always yourself. Perhaps that�s what pushes people to work harder at their chosen craft.

So with that boost to my self confidence I guess I will finally shut up about not being a good enough smith and try to teach a class at an upcoming University, providing that I can get everything worked out with those that run it. Oh, and on a side note I noticed a very interesting thing when I had finished my 4-� hour demo. I felt as tired, sore, and worn out as if I had been fighting all day. Never thought that I could get all the exercise I did from fighting in just a few hours of good hard smithing. And just think, no bruises, broken thumbs, and hurt friends - just a lot of noise, dirt, and cool ironwork to show for my efforts.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com