Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2002-01-07 - 11:07 a.m.

Good morning!

Sigh�so I have been sitting in front of this computer for about an hour trying to figure out a way to explain the things that are on my mind.

Writing is hard.

Art is a very personal thing for me. In my case, as you all know, Iron is my choice of media, and the anvil is my canvas. It is there that I go to create. It is there that the muse and I interact�sometimes. Blacksmithing is an escape for me. ADD and I walk hand in hand all day every day, but when I enter the forge it stays at the door. Maybe it is the adrenaline, maybe it is the physicality of the craft, or perhaps it is just magic, but regardless, when I am working iron, the world is clear for me. There are no distractions, there is no fog, there is nothing�just me.

For me, smithing is my outlet. I think that this is the reason that I have found it so hard for me to display my work for others to see and critique. Every A&S display that I have placed my work in has been very stressful for me. It is as if I am bearing my soul for everyone to handle. This is a hard thing to do. For it seems that where ever you go, there are always those who handle your �work� with care and compassion�and then there are those who don�t. To sit by idly and have people judge you work, to consciously or not, to have them rate your skill and knowledge, to watch them compare your blood, sweat, and tears to those around you is hard to accept. Funny to think that even ironwork needs a sign that states �Handle With Care�.

On a positive note, 12th night was a blast! I did have a display there, and when the Laurel�s prize tourney was over I felt exhausted, but good. I had many interested people look at my work, ask good questions, enjoy the spoils of my craft. Unfortunately I did not get much in the way of constructive criticism. I of course do not blame anyone for that; I did after all choose an art form that many people have no experience in. Hmm I wonder if documentation from the 1700�s would be acceptable.

Many other wonderful things happened at the event this weekend as well. My bud Colin was knighted! His fair lady Pavla received her golden dolphin! Old Castle welcomed 2 new pearls (you go Sorcha and Andrew!), and Gwen became Atlantia�s newest Pelican! I am proud to be surrounded by so many awesome folks. (There were so many of my friends recognized for their efforts, that I apologize to anyone I have left out of this list. perhaps later when I have more time to reflect on the day, I will remember and add you to the list).

Like I mentioned earlier, for me the event was exhausting, but little did I know that I was going to get my second wind. At one point during court my lady wife leaned over to me and said��isn�t that Thorvald over there?� I looked across the hall and indeed did see my Knight. Of course a new wave of excitement crashed over me and as soon as I could I rushed over to visit with him. (I had not seen my knight in a few years).

Later that evening I opted to spend a quiet night in my room, but much to my surprise I soon found myself reliving my college days. I had left the door to the room open, and was just relaxing when I noticed that just like when I was living in the dorms many years ago, every person that I saw walking up and down the halls were people I knew. Many times they would stop and say hi, or just wave as the rushed by to one party on the hall or another. But much to my enjoyment, a few of those friends stopped in and we talked much of the night away. Man that felt good. I think that is one of the things I miss then most about dorm life. Hmm�if I were evil overlord, more events would end like this one did.

So I was surfing around online looking for information for a friend of mine, and I came across this quote that I just can�t seem to get out of my head, so I reckon I�ll share it with the rest of yall as well.

When you plant lettuce, if it does not grow well, you don't blame the lettuce. You look for reasons it is not doing well. It may need fertilizer, or more water, or less sun. You never blame the lettuce. Yet if we have problems with our friends or family, we blame the other person. But if we know how to take care of them, they will grow well, like the lettuce. Blaming has no positive effect at all, nor does trying to persuade using reason and arguments. That is my experience. No blame, no reasoning, no argument, just understanding. -- Thich Nhat Hahn

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com