Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2002-01-24 - 9:53 a.m.

Good morning world.

I think that I have finally irritated my co-workers. I am no longer doing their jobs for them. See I teach, and I develop programs that deal with computers, for the public library. So I spend my morning getting ready for my class, I then teach till noon, and now spend the rest of the day locked away in the meeting room away from everyone so that I can get some work done. Remember I am the guy who has no desk at work. My co-workers have decided that what I should be doing is sitting in the computer lab, answering every question that people have there. For example, I had a lady tear off the door to a floppy disk, because she thought it was like a tag that needed to be removed before using. She then asked me if there was anything else that she needed to do the disk before she used it. Sigh�this is why I lock myself in the meeting room. Oh well�I cannot complain too much, at least I still have a job.

It looks like that may not be so for many of my co-workers though. We have just received word that we are loosing 25% of our funding from the state this year, and 10% from the city. Hmm a 35% cut in an already meager budget. This time though the library has decided that it is going to do is cut jobs not the book budget. Sigh�Fortunately for me none of these budget cuts will affect me at all. It is a bit spooky though watching ALL of the rest of the folks around me at work squirm. Aside from the branch manager all of their jobs are at risk. Guess it pays to have a job in which I am unique. I�ll tell ya, there is no redundancy in my dept. Bad news is I think that by this time next year my library coverage will include 2 more libraries. Oh well�it wont be so bad I guess, because I am currently automating much of my class. That of course means less work for me in the long run. And as long as I am in the development process, I can continue to lock myself away from the rest of my co-workers, listen to my angry music, and dream of one day (perhaps soon if these staff cuts go through J ) of having a desk of my own.

Today�s forecast is more rain�but temperatures nearing 75�. What is up with the weather these days?

Food for thought.

If you look deeply into the palm of your hand, you will see your parents and all generations of your ancestors. All of them are alive in this moment. Each is present in your body. You are the continuation of each of these people.

-Thich Nhat Hahn

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com