Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2003-12-10 - 1:05 a.m.

Well I gotta tell ya�when things start going well, it does it in bunches.

I am finally getting bites on the flood of resumes that I have sent out. In fact I am going for an interview with a company that will (if I am offered the position of course) have me working out of Chantilly Va. How cool is that? That would put me close to friends AND family. Well ok�closer to some friends, and unfortunately further away from others (which would suck).

Anyhow�the job sounds like it could be either really fun�or a nightmare. First off I would get to go through the same hell that Kevin got to enjoy as I had a background check run on me for security clearance bs, and after that I get to run all over the country teaching DEA folks how to use the new software that they have apparently just purchased. Then after a year of that the travel then goes international. Could be cool�and like I said�it could suck. As it turns out, the DEA has been doing some sort of information collection or something that is ALL paper based�and now they are modernizing the system�unfortunately not all the users want to be upgraded with it�or something like that. Like I care�I could teach rocks to skip rope if I really set my mind to it, so this shouldn�t be much different.

Course I can�t get my hopes up or anything. As of this moment I don�t have the job. But I have always said that all I need is the interview�once they meet me�well they can�t help but hire me.

So Thursday I am headed up north to meet Mel for a fun evening of Bruins Hockey. Heh�last year when I went to the Bruins Caps game I came home with Glen Murrary�s stick�wonder what I might be so lucky to walk away from this game with? IF I am really lucky it will be the joy and excitement of seeing my B�s win!

Then Friday I am off to my interview�and after that�well I guess I will just have to wait and see what happens. Catching up with friends is always a great way to pass the time�I guess I�ll just have to sit back and see. Ahh the wonderful flexibility of it all�

Now�lemme see. What else it there to blab about. Oh shit�how could I have forgotten�I got back to the forge for the first time in 8 months. It was�ugly. Wonderful and fun�but ugly. I began work on a project that I actually have documentation for. I am working up a pattern weld scramasax. Today saw me finish the first of 4 packs (a layering of iron, low, and high carbon steel that is forge welded together and then folded and re-welded until there are 300 layers within the billet) for this knife. Ugh�it was good to see that I can still weld, but it took me much longer to accomplish that I had expected. And on top of it all I have many many little burn marks all over my arms and hands from the (all with little pieces of scale in them) welding. If you have ever seen a smith weld�when he strikes the iron, the work erupts in a fountain of sparks. Well these sparks are little pieces if iron oxide in the form of scale that is encased in liquid borax (which is acting as a flux for the weld) which is somewhere around 1500 or more degrees. Needless to say, when this stuff gets on your skin it sticks, burns, and stays. Well to get back to the story�I had a hell of a time with that happening to me today�but more specifically I had those sparks getting in between my hammer handle and my bare hand�needless to say, my hand now hurts. But it is a GOOD hurt I swear!

So anyhow�I am hoping to have this thing done in time for 12th night�here�s hoping!

Well I reckon that I have bored everyone sufficiently tonight�and it is 1am. I really ought to get to bed and stuff.

So�till next time

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com