Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2001-11-27 - 9:55 a.m.

I started down the path of the elusive Bs. in 1989, and finally attained it in 1997. During that time I had 6 majors (Biology, philosophy, landscape architecture, horticulture, psychology, and history), and came damn close to a degree in 3 of em. Then finally came the day when I was sitting in the Deans office at Virginia Tech that he decided that I had indeed taken enough credits (I had about 190. Now to put things into perspective, most majors require 120 credits to get your degree, about � of which are core credits which you need regardless of what your major is. You get the picture I hope.), and he was giving me my degree. hehe Now I must admit that this was very nice of him, and looking back on the event, I am glad he did it. But was I ready to face the real world? Was I ready to stop my learning? Was I ready to stop taking useless classes that would do nothing to further my professional aspirations? NO!

Undaunted by this sudden twist of fate, I jumped right into a masters program (which I have still to complete). Hehe I�ll show them! I will never quit learning! I will be the eternal student! If I were a superhero they would call me Scared Of The Real World Boy�er I mean THE LEARNER�um, no�ahh I got it, they would call me JACK! The guy who knows a little about most anything! Try saying that as you rush in to battle with your arch nemesis.

I guess the point I am trying to make is as much as I hate the BS involved with getting your Bs, or Ms, or PhD I just cant seem to shake the excitement of learning something new. Hmm if I remember correct my father was in his early 50's when he finally finished with school. Bah...must resist. I guess it was no wonder that when I came home from orientation for my new job, and gleefully told my wife that the city would pay for my continuing education (as long as it related to my current field) She frowned at me. Um no frown is too light of a word. Perhaps she would not care as much if I finished one degree before pursuing a new one.

I love to learn, can�t get enough of it, but I guess that the wife is right. I really ought to finish one degree before I work on yet another one.

You know the funny thing though�I am the world�s worst partner to have when playing those trivia games. Go figure. But I can tell you; I know more about cobblestone, the characteristics of Quercus albus (the white oak), and the yin and yang aspects of Chinese cooking than anyone else I know. Granted there are lots of folks who know more about one of those topics than I do, or perhaps even 2 of them�but all 3? Well who knows�.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com