Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2002-11-15 - 12:31 p.m.

Good morning Me�

It�s Finally Friday! Funny thing is I can hardly remember the earlier part of the week.


Monday was a Holiday for me. I spent the time cleaning the house�and Breaking the Jeep.


Tuesday I went to work a bit late�but it was work. I was in a fog all that day�not sure why, but it was one of those days where you remember sitting sown at your desk in the morning and you remember leaving it in the evening�but I�ll be damned what happened in between.


Wednesday I took off work to fix the Jeep. I had to actually; I had no other way of making it to the library. Sometimes I really miss working at the branch across the street from my house. Now of course things didn�t go as planned that day. For starters it was raining. So in order to fix the Jeep in quasi-comfort I had to clean the garage. Mind you, I was not the one to trash the garage, nor was I the one who has stuff scattered in there in no real order. So I spent all morning cleaning. Come the afternoon I tore into the Jeep. Things came apart fairly easy�including a lower coolant hose that dumped about a quart of coolant on my head (Yes I thought I had the radiator drained�My guess was the coolant came from the block). Then it was off to the radiator shop to get the radiator fixed. Then of course 2 hours after dropping it off, I got a call from the nice fellahs at the shop telling me that I would be better off getting a new one, seeing how mine has been repaired 4 times before. Of course this means that I won�t have a radiator to put in the Jeep tonight.

Thursday I got to car pool with Vlad to work the next morning. He works in Newport News, and I had a class in Hampton that day. So I was woke up at the ungodly hour of 5:30 am�and found my self on the road by 6:15. Shame of it is�my class didn�t start till 9:00. So I dropped Vlad off at 6:45 and went looking for breakfast�and I could find nothing other than fast food�ugh. I�ll pass thanks. So I sat in the parking lot where my class was to be held for almost two hours. Ahhh�lovely catnap. From there it was on to class. Specifically a class on using Front Page. I know, I know�but the powers that be wanted me to take the class, so that I would be better prepared to teach a Front Page class. Wonder if anyone has realized that none of the lab computers has Front Page loaded on em? Oh well�mine is not to question. I am not a professional remember (the only professionals in the library world are those who hold MLA�s�nothing else. Ugh�). Class was Scheduled from 9:00-4:00�and I managed to learn EVERYTHING that the instructor was presenting in 35 minutes. Sigh�As Mr. Powell is known for saying�If I�m so smart�why ain�t I rich? Why are these classes SO easy for me? Why does learning (except for math) come so easy? All I do is look at what needs to be done�and I just do it, and if I am not sure how �it� is done�I either figure out what �it� is, and find a way to make �it� happen�or I fake �it� as best I can, and move on. So needless to say, class consisted of the instructor holding everyone else�s hand in class and walking them through the program step by step, and occasionally helping me figure out how to do �something� that was not covered in class, while I tried desperately to occupy my mind for the rest of the class.

So after class it was off to pick up Vlad, and then fight the traffic home, for I still had to pick up a radiator and drinks for the Clix game at my place, and install the radiator so that I could get to work the next day. Well the traffic was a bitch�surprise. I dunno why, but I get REALLY pissed at the inability of many of the drivers out there. They can�t Fuckin drive! They see brake lights�they are immediately on their brakes. No they don�t just take their foot off the gas and gradually slow down�not they feel the need to drop 20 mph in a second or two. No wonder traffic is so shitty. These are also the same folks who drive 45 on the interstate, in the left lane, while leaving 5 or more car lengths in front of them�AND they hit their brakes as soon as they see brake lights. Sigh�ok I am preaching to the choir here. You know my frustrations, you probably have them yourselves�I know Roland does.

Well I finally get the new radiator and the drinks and get back home. I pull the Jeep into the garage and begin installing the radiator. All goes smoothly� too smoothly, and that is never a good sign when working on cars. It usually means that something terrible is about to happen. And terrible it was. The clutch driven cooling fan would not fit between the new radiator and the engine�FUCK! Good news is I have a constant drive fan for the Jeep�but it is at the garage, and I won�t have access to it until 8:00 am the next morning. Sigh�Guess I�ll just have to make due.

During the time that I was working on the Jeep I also found out that the pop-off valve on the water heater/furnace was leaking�Ugh�wet floor. No fun. But fortunately for me Mr Powell came by last night and fixed it for me. Yeah I know, for all my skills�I know nothing about plumbing and furnaces.

So in addition to all this fun, we had a big ole clix battle a the house. Colin, Puckeater, Minivan Samurai, Vlad, and myself did battle, while Evja and Caitlin watched on (how they managed to stand it, I�m not sure. There was some SERIOUS geeking going on).

Friday saw me again running about like a chicken with no head. I had to get to the garage first thing and install the other cooling fan, get some food and get to work all in an hour. Needless to say, I was a bit late. But that�s ok, everyone understood. So I am now the happy owner of a new radiator, and a cooling fan that fits�and if all works out, I will have the SHO today as well. Ah well�when it rain it pours.

Class has just ended, and I am here finishing up this rambling�disgusted with my poor writing this time. But what can ya do? Not everything is perfect�

Perhaps tonight I will brave the masses and go see The Chamber of Secrets�or perhaps not. We shall see�

Till next time self�




Today I learned that you can drive a car with no cooling fan. Not an electric cooling fan mind you, I am talking about one of the ones that bolts on to that main pulley. I�m not sure why I thought this would not work�I guess I figured that with out the weight �something� would happen. Glad to see that that fear was unfounded.

So what have you learned today?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com