Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2003-01-10 - 12:01 p.m.

First off let me say I was duly impressed by the number of responses yesterday�s entry received. I have to admit I don�t think I realized how many folk actually seem to like beards. Perhaps it is cause the only people who tend to voice their opinion on the subject are the folks that do not like them.

I find it frustrating that people tend only to voice their opinions when they are unhappy with something. How often do you hear�I just want to let you know how excellent blah blah blah was, or Person X performed Y task with unmatched excellence�or just pretty durn good�

Isn�t it just as important to let the world know when you are happy with something instead of just unhappy?

For example, in my line of work (teaching) it is just as important to let me know when I am doing a good job, as it is when I am not. How can I continue to improve as a teacher if I am only made aware of my mistakes? Am I supposed to guess? Am I supposed to assume that your silence is the same as acceptance? If I don�t get any positive feedback, I am just as likely to change the way I am presenting information as if someone told me that my presentation did not work (but at least when I get negative feedback I can usually extrapolate what they want from what the don�t want).

Hmm�I am sounding preachy aren�t I? Perhaps I should move to a new topic now.


So I had planned on writing about a totally different subject today�but I have been derailed by the most amazing display of stupidity I have had to deal with in a long time.

Let me ask a question.

WHY THE FUCK CAN�T GROWN ADULTS FOLLOW SIMPLE FUCKING INSTRUCTIONS!!!!!!

How difficult is this to understand.

I am passing around today�s handouts. Please take the top sheet and pass the rest to the person next to you.

THEY COULD NOT FUCKING DO IT!

I wasted 20 mother fucking minutes of class trying to sort out this bullshit. I had one fellah that could not seem to manage the take one and pass the rest part. He just let the stacks pile up next to him�and then asked, �So what do I do with all of this?� (indicating the pile next to him). Another fellah figured that every pile was for him only so after he folded crushed up the first 4 stacks of papers that came to him he asked�how many packets of hand outs are we getting today?

FUCKIN A! Take the top GOD DAMN SHEET AND PASS THE REST TO THE STUPID FUCK NEXT TO YOU!

Sigh�and then once they managed to mix everything up, get all the handouts out of order�they could not put them back in order. I mean come on now�the fuckin pages are NUMBERED!

How helpless can a person be? My 5th graders could accomplish this task. Shit, I would not have even needed to give them instructions. I could just start handing out papers and they would automatically start passing them�

And these folks want to learn how to use the computer? They want to learn how to effectively search the Internet? You have to be able to trouble shoot, problem solve, THINK in order to find things on the net�The world is not going to just up and give you all of the answers. I swear�I tell them to find the link to something on a web page�and no one can find it�why? Cause they refuse to FUCKING READ! They do not realize that you might need to SCROLL down the document till you come to the link�You might have to engage your brain to find the answers�

I ask them to find the name of the goalies for the Boston Bruins�.I take them to the Bruins page�I tell them they can find the answer on the ROSTER page�and no one can seem to get there. And WHY? cause the can�t�are not willing to read anything on the page. They want a fucking NEON SIGN that says �HERE IS THE ANSWER YOU ARE LOOKING FOR YOU STUPID LAZY HELPLESS FUCK!� Cause obviously they don�t see the button that is labeled Bruins Roster�

And once they get to the roster page�they all begin to complain that there are no goalies�Why? Because you need to scroll down the page to see the Goalie section�Sigh�fuck me, Why do I do this? Why Do I keep trying?

God Damnit�They have pissed me off so bad that I have gone back to �cussin like an idiot�fuck me�


I am not going to ask what yall learned today�cause I don�t want to know. I don�t want to hear how wonderfully smart and resourceful yall are�cause it will only remind me of the fucking helpless idiots that I am forced to teach.

Have a nice weekend all�

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com