Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2001-11-01 - 1:12 p.m.

Today I met the rudest SOB to ever enter the library on my shift. He is what I would call a pimple on the ass of society. He spends his time looking for free money, threatening to sue folks over this or that, scalping tickets, not working, and generally being a major whiney ass. He is the type of person that believes the world owes him. He is one of those types who want money, but wont work for it.

A little background, this man is 5�10 or 11, weighs about 215 lbs, and is a modestly built man. He is in his mid 40�s and acts like he is 12. By that I mean he regularly throws temper tantrums when he does not get his way, he whines, he bullies, and he tries to threaten people through his body language and posture. Needless to say, he has the older ladies that I work with all cowed.

Today�enter the ass�.

I was about half way into teaching my very full class today when this man walks into the branch. I of course pay no attention to him. A few minutes later he causes a disturbance in the library, whining because there is no computer for him to use. He starts saying things like; this is a public library, so why can�t the public use the computers. He whines and get louder and louder, until my Branch Manager decides to let him use one of the computers in my class. I can seat 9 in my little room; I had 8 students in attendance today. Unsure what as to what was happening, I graciously allow him to enter my classroom and use the one free computer. I am a nice guy, respect me and I will respect you. Disrespect me and watch out. I do not tolerate anyone causing a disturbance in my classroom. I think this man wrote the book on disrespect. As soon as he sets down he turns on his radio loud enough that I can hear it, and then proceeds to receive phone calls on his cell phone while I am lecturing. OH MAN�I was ready to put him out on his ass right then. Enter the Branch manager. As this was happening she caught my eye, and shook her head. I guess she knew what I was planning to do. So I bit my tongue. Perhaps she knew something that I did not. I finished the class, ignoring the Ass as well as I could. All in all my students were happy with the way things went, but I could tell that they too had been annoyed by Mr. Ass.

Class lets out, and I go to the manager to see why she waved me off from confronting Mr. Ass. She gives me an exhausted look and states that he is always like that, and only becomes more of a disturbance when confronted�to the point that they feel uncomfortable. Ahh�they bully had trained his librarians. Calmly I inform my branch manager that his behavior would no longer be tolerated at my branch, and the next time he causes any type of disturbance I will ask him to leave, and if I needed to involve the police, so be it. I am no stranger to this scenario. I have no patience for bullies. Especially free loading ones.

I guess I should have confronted this guy as soon as he became a pest in my class�well shame on me. But I figured I should have more information before I started causing problems. And now I do. I guarantee that it will not happen again. I will keep yall posted on how things pan out here. Hopefully I wont have to pull this guys punk card�but if I do� I hope he is smart and does the right thing. I would hate to have to show him how I really feel about bullies.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com