Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2003-01-06 - 10:14 a.m.

It makes me feel pretty darn good about myself when I see people writing about things that I find myself pondering. I am not often one to talk about what little �noise� goes on inside my head. I tend to make note of it. Think about it for a while and file it away and see what happens. Well, today as I was reading GrammaCait�s (that is Educait to the rest of yall!) I received a little present (though she probably doesn�t know�at least not yet).

GrammaCait said: �On the Headbone today:that dumb new Chili Peppers song, which sounds to me like "fly away on my cell phone." (I know, it's his zephyr, but can't old Tony enunciate?)

It seems like a lifetime ago when I had this thought/conversation with GenieAlisa and Puckeater (Curse you Genvieve, I will forever hear �Puck-a-Tear�) about music. It was during a point in my life where I was really getting into �angry� music. Well I am still into angry music but for totally different reasons now (and I betcha it isn�t for the reasons that you are thinking!). As we sat there talking about what groups we really liked at the moment I listed such artists as Disturbed, Rage, and Saliva. GenieAlisa then countered with one of her then favorites Nickelback.

When asked why she liked Nickelback more than�say Disturbed she responded with �You can understand the Nickelback singer. He enunciates well. Whereas with the Disturbed singer�you are not always sure what he is saying.�

This got me to thinking. I had always thought that Nickelback, while they had a few good songs was basically girl music. I know it is terrible of me to stereotype like that but enh�So this got me to thinking even more. Why is it girl music? Why is BoltThrower or God Smack boy music? Well I don�t pretend to have all the answers but I did ponder this one idea for a bit.

You can easily understand the lyrics in the girl music. The singer has a nice clean voice and enunciates well, and you ladies like that. You want to hear the message or the story or whatever. Whereas guys (especially me) are more interested in the music, and the lyrics are just one small part of the entire song. Now why is it that I say this? What kind of support do I have for such an accusation? Well�it is a bit simple but it does work for me�How many women do you know that can sing the lyrics to just about every song out there? How many women do you know that can hear a song just a few times and then sing along? How many guys do you know that can do that? I know that Genie could hear a song once�maybe twice and then sing along as if she had written the damn thing. Where as I can listen to a song a fifty times and still not learn all the lyrics. But I can tell you within the first few notes what song we are listening to, I can tell you what the guitar is doing and going to do next�or what the bassist is doing, or when the drummer is going to start doing something different. I can sing along with the refrains, or perhaps particularly catchy parts of a song�but I cannot sing it all. I mean shit�Trouble which is one of my all time favorite songs�and a pretty easy one at that I still cannot sing through without making all sorts of mistakes.

So what I am trying to say is�Could it be that the Lyrics are more important to the ladies than they are to the fellahs? Could that be the reason that guys don�t care so much if the singer cannot enunciate? I dunno�like I said it was just a passing thought.

But it does leave me wondering if I am I on to something? I know that there are exceptions to everything, and I am sure that there area a fair number of ladies out there who think groups like Disturbed or MudVayne are just down right wonderful�But I can�t help wonder�


Last night was a day of geeky goodness. I sorted through some comics�trying to get a handhold on my comic spending. I have realized that it is getting a bit out of hand, so I have cut down on the titles that I will continue to follow. It was hard, but not as hard as I had thought. Now if things go according to plan I will not be spending more than $15 or at most $20 a week on the damn things. Enh�I don�t want to hear it�it is still cheaper than a smoking or drinking habit, and healthier too.

So after the comic sorting and reading Vald and I decided to waste the rest of our day with some good ole fashioned movie vegging. I finally got to watch 8 legged freaks! OMG what a wonderfully campy movie! But I have to tell ya�if spiders freak you out, if you thought that the spider scene from Harry Potter was bad�then you have NO BUSNIESS seeing this movie. It will give you nightmares I guarantee it. I mean scenes of jumping spiders the size of cows taking down fleeing people was�well�very believable. They did an amazing job with the spider animation. Simply amazing. So with that said�8 Legged Freaks�Best Spider Movie EVER!


So I am coming down to the wire here for my 12th night A&S entry and have to yet find any documentation for my project. The closest I can get is 1250, which is still 184 years to late. Sigh�guess that is what I get for making something BEFORE documenting it. Oh well�it will still look good sitting on the �for display only� table�sigh.


So my poor Bruins have lost again. I don�t get it really. How can a team start so strong and then all of a sudden loose almost every game they play? I know that they have the talent. They try hard. What has happened? Have all the other teams just figured out how to stop whatever it was that was working for em? Is it that all of the other teams have finally �warmed up�? I just don�t get it. That is the problem with being a new fan to the sport. I have only been following the game seriously for 2 years now, and there is a lot that I still have to learn. Puckeater says that I really have nothing to worry about�after all the regular season doesn�t mean anything�it is all about the Stanley Cup, and as long as you make the playoffs your fine. Well ok Puckeater�if you say so. But man I tell ya, I sure would like to see the Bruins win a few more games during the regular season.


Today I learned that we could get some snow here in Tidewater tonight. Woo hoo! Everyone is going to go crazy! This is great! I reckon that I had better make sure that the Jeep is going to start. I won�t want to be driving the SHO anywhere in the �nasty� weather. Mostly cause I don�t trust the rest of the world to be able to drive in the one inch of snow that we may get. I mean Christ�they cant drive in the rain or through a tunnel after all.

So what have you learned today?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com