Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2001-10-26 - 12:34 p.m.

Week one of teaching is over�whew.

It is a good thing that I am used to talking a lot, or I would never make it through one of these classes. It is Two to Three hours of NON-STOP talking. Heh, and I am considering teaching 2 classes a day soon.

I Look back on my first class and can barely remember how nervous the thought of teaching computers to folks made me. Now just a few days later I feel as if I have been doing it for months. I guess teaching just comes natural to some folks. Either you love it, or it is an exercise in torture.

It has been months now that my wife and I have been looking for a house to buy, but we keep coming up with the same thing. It is too expensive, too small, ugly, laid out like a rail car, on a fucked up lot, or something. I just don�t believe that there is such a thing as the perfect house.

Last night the wife and I looked at yet another home. The location was good, the house (from the outside) looked ok, and it had a wonderful garage (2 � car, 2 story). The down side was that the yard, while sizable had no plants except grass, and one miserable little skinny stunted tree growing on it. Sigh�I had a friend once tell me that big trees were integral to good mental health. I think she is right. Look at those folks who live in the big city�hardly any big trees�and they are all crazy.

Now I know most of you know that I spent my time at Va. Tech studying (among a million other subjects) horticulture and landscape design, so you are probably thinking to yourself I should be excited by this! It is like having a clean slate on which to create your garden masterpiece! To this I say Bah! Come on now� I want big trees and established hedges�these things take years to grow�besides landscape designers have crappy yards for the most part, because they have no time or desire to mess with their own. Rocket scientists don�t have their own rockets at home�landscapers have boring yards. That�s just life.

Well we hope to get the chance to look inside this place this weekend or early next week. I will be keeping my fingers crossed that it is a nice place on the inside. I can handle one thing not being perfect. Besides I can fix the way the yard looks by putting up a big forge in it.

Sigh, well here is hoping that we will be moving into our own digs by the end of the year.

It sure would be nice to finally have a place to set down some roots�deep roots.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com