Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2002-10-02 - 9:37 a.m.

I will not go quietly�

For 6 months now I have managed to stay out of the upstairs entertainment room. For 6 months now I have avoided the TV like it was a plague. And in one fell swoop my friends have broken down all my resistance. Now I find myself wondering what is going to happen on the next Buffy, or am I going to be home to watch Fire Fly�or oh boy! I can�t wait till Birds of Prey starts�sigh�oh how the mighty have fallen�thanks guys� ; o

Well I guess that there is only one reasonable response to this new �threat�. I must buy more electronics! I have to get me a TiVO. At least that way I am not a slave to the networks schedules and commercials. Guess I will waste away my day today researching TiVO�s�hehehe

In other news�I love my car, but it is always hard getting someone project. Yes all used cars are projects. Like a very wise man once told me�There has got to be a reason why they sold the cow. Well I now know why the previous owner sold the SHO. The cams were a problem�and I bet her knew it�now the clutch is slipping pretty bad. So now I am going to have to replace that here in the very near future. The suck part of this job is I am going to have to pull the subframe and the entire tranny to get to the damn thing. Oh and of course there is the actual part of the clutch. $575�but that is for a much buffer one that what comes stock with the car. I so do not want to have to replace this bad boy again. Thank God I am lucky enough to know how to work on cars�thank God I have a place that I can go and work on it.

This weekend looks to be a rockin good time. The Botanical Gardens is having a festival this weekend, and the Badger and I have been asked to come setup the forge and demo the entire weekend. But there is the cool part�we can sell as well. I have high hopes of raking in some big bucks at this event. It would be nice to defray the cost of that clutch. So between now and Saturday I will be kicking it into high gear with Badger making stock like a little fiend. Money money money�hehehehehe.

For those loyal fans that may have forgotten today is comic day! Unfortunately this week looks like slim pickins. But that is ok�I will just make up for the lack of comic goodness with a pack or two of hero clix instead. Gotta bulk up the marvel universe so I can take it to the ass of my DC loyalist friends�HULK SMASH!!!!

I gotta tell ya folks�thanks for the response towards my Grant wiritng needs�I really appreciate it. I have myself a �Dummies� book that I am plowing through at work right now, and after I am done with that I have a few classes that the city is offering on Grant writing that I have signed up for�but I am sure that I will give some of ya a buzz�I really really want this project to get funded.

So lately I have been beefing up my music collection. I have to. Half of my collection is gone now. Ok so it was not all mine half was Genie�s�but it was hard to see our wonderfully diverse selection of tunes get slashed in half. I am sure that she feels the same way too though�Well anyhow the folks at Planet Music (My local source for used music. Though I am thinking that I am going to have to catch up with Genie�s Dad here sometime soon so he can show me all the good hockshops for buying music.) keep looking at me like I am some sort of musical freak. And I guess to some extent that is true. This last trip scored me some George Clinton (Funk), Disturbed (Metal?), Cake (Er�freaky cowboy alternative something or other), Rob Zombie (Fuck if I know. Metal angry Loud shit?), Tracy Chapman (thought provoking something or other), Indigo Girls (Girl Rock), Dixie Chicks (Country Girl Rock), Terri Clark (Country), Grateful Dead (Er�ok whatever you wanna call it), Korn (loud angry shit), Chieftains (Celtic/Folk music), and finally BTO (Classic Rock). The poor girl at the check out Looked at this selection of music, looked at me, giggled and said that all I needed was some classical thrown in and I would have covered the entire spectrum. Ya know, she�s right I guess�and I do need some more Classical in my collection. So her is the suck part�I just bought 2 CD rack/shelf things to put my music on�and I think I am soon going to need another. Bah�especially if I put all my er�copied stuff that I have on the computer onto disk�Oh dear. And just think, Genie and I have been talking and she told me that I am more than welcome to copy stuff out of her collection to put back into mine. Mmmmm�Music�ya know�you really can�t have enough. Hmm can�t wait till next pay day�so that I can pick up another few disks�

Last night I was on my way over to my Navy Buddies place for dinner and Buffy when I found myself in a total Geek moment. There I was cruising along VA Beach Blvd. Listening to my newly acquired Cake CD much to loudly�but my excuse is I am already half deaf so I have to turn it up to er�get the full effect of the music�er and�um�stuff. Well any how to get back to the story�There I was bopping along when Much to my surprise I pull up next to a Beautiful Lt. Titanium SHO. My guess was it was a �90 cause of the rim style coupled with the air bag steering wheel (and I was right!). Well anyhow there is this young (I figure her was 19 or so) kid at the wheel of this Beast. So anyhow, I glance over at him and wave�and he just gives me this blank look. I knew he must either be a new SHO owner�or he had no idea what he was driving. So I shrugged and dropped the hammer and took off. He must have figured out then that I was in a SHO as well cause suddenly his baby lurched and hopped up right behind me. By the next stop light he had pulled up next to me, and a little embarrassed he explains that he thought I was just some dude in a regular Taurus (hehe I love the sleeper look). Well anyhow I tell him to meet me in a parking lot up ahead cause I wanted to pass on some info to him. See SHO guys are all the same really. We share as much info about our crazy cars as possible. That is the only way to keep these things alive without being independently wealthy. So we pull off the road, and I tell him about the local SHO club, TSHOC�and ask him what he knows about his baby. Well it turns out he just bought the thing like a week ago, and he is really new to the world of the SHO. Man was it this guys lucky day. I dumped a load of info on him, web sites, mechanic contacts, and of course info on the Car Club. He seemed thrilled�but his girlfriend (?) seemed a little creeped out by the whole event. Guess I can�t blame her really. Some Crazy guys pulls up in a Taurus next to ya and then asks ya to pull over so that he can give you info about your car, and a car club�it is just a Taurus right�hehehe. I guess I would have been a bit freaked as well. Oh well�I hope he uses the info I gave him. He had himself a nice lookin ride. I would hate to see it got to shit cause he was uninformed.

So I seemed to have rambled quite a bit today�diarrhea of the brain I guess.

Today I learned that it doesn�t matter if you have 325 horsies under the hood when you clutch slips. Every time you get down on the accelerator (merging, passing, going up hills�) the engine runs like a scalded dog�the revs go shooting up�but for some reason the car just kinda putts along�Kinda like a Loony-Toons cartoon. You got your legs going all fast like�but you ain�t movin�So any way�on the the learned stuff. When looking for a clutch I have found that you want one that is strapped and screwed. This refers to how the friction material is mounted to the clutch disk. It turns out that this mounting method helps dissipate the heat faster� and it is more durable than clutch plates that have the friction material glued and or riveted to em. The next thing that you need to look for is a high quality throw out bearing. It seems like this one little item can kill a clutch faster than anything. In my case I am going with a ceramic replacement. They supposedly have a long life expectancy when coupled with a buff clutch.

Now then�as for the rest of yall�Come on. What have you learned? Anything at all? Amuse me�just once I would like to hear form all of yall. Let me know that you are learning something every day. Now for those of ya who do share what you have learned with me�thanks. I really do like hearing about new and interesting things�no matter how trivial or complicated it may seem.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com