Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2005-09-14 - 7:31 a.m.

Can it really be that I have not written in so long?

I guess that is what happens when you are on the road all the time. Funny�I am not even sure where things go in my apartment anymore. I have to stop and think about it. My poor fish are suffering horribly from all the travel as well. I think that in the last 2 pushing 3 months (I have been on the road�home on the weekends�for almost that long now) I have lost 6 or more of the little guys�It really sucks.

Well as you can probably guess, the travel is starting to finally wear on me. Thank God that this week I am actually home. It was a real joy waking up this morning knowing that all I have to do is drive in to the office�and knowing that I will get to repeat this for an entire week is a real treat. My boss calls it my Birthday present.

Speaking of which�35! I can�t believe that I am almost (well I might as well be) 35. Where has the time gone? It seems like just the other month I was only 30 (though oddly enough I have to really think about things earlier than that!). Weird�I never thought this is where I would be in life. Not that I am complaining. It is not a bad spot to be in�just not what I expected.

So I gave myself an early B-day present. I finally bit the bullet and bought myself a motorcycle. It is a very RED Suzuki SV1000S. And yes�I realize that this does not mean much to anyone. So here is a short description of the bike. It is RED! Think of it like a Ducati for poor folks (A Duc can easily run you $20k). The bike is 996cc. putting around 115-120 hp to the rear wheel (on par with most cars out there�especially if you think that hp rating for cars is measured at the flywheel not the rear�or drive wheel�you loose a lot of hp once you go through the tranny and diff.) Oh�and it is a nekkid sport bike�though mine has an aftermarket faring on it�dealers decision not mine�but it cost next to nothing (as opposed to the usual $800). I have had the bike for a little over a month now and have over 2k miles on it already. I ride this thing all the time�especially with gas costing what it does at the moment. 50 mpg is very welcome and makes the Mustang at 22 mpg seem like a gas pig. The other thing that I am enjoying with owning a bike again is all the accessorizing that goes into it. Gotta get the right gear and parts for the bike after all. It is a game really. These boots and that helmet�that jacket�these cans (exhaust) to go with this tank bag�etc. I have never been big on going shopping�but these days I can�t stay out of bike shops�I mean, you never know�they might just have the �Must Have� accessory!

Let�s see�what else is going on? Oh yeah�Hockey is back! I am so geeked by that! And to make things better, I got an invite from a good friend of mine (who is now living in Pittsburgh) to go see the Penguins opener. Fortunately it is against the Bruins�so I guess I will make that trip (twist my arm right?).

Cycling has taken a header in my world unfortunately�cycling in Hagerstown is not really much of an option�and what with riding the Motorcycle (to save on $$$) means that I don�t get to tote it along anyhow. Oh well�here is hoping that next year settles down a bit, and I can get back to it. I certainly miss getting out and cycling�just getting out and doing really.

Which brings me to my most recent frustration... I HATE eating at restaurants. I am forced to eat at them 3 times a day�5 days a week for months on end now. And it is all crap! Well ok�not really, but I am so tired of it�and it is not doing anything to help my weight loss�which has turned to weight gain again. Sigh�Funny�when I am at home I eat like a�er�not going to say�but I eat like one. Yogurt and grapenuts mixed with a slim fast for breakfast�today it is couscous and peas for Lunch, and dinner looks like it is going to be a big ole pile of what ever veggie I have in the fridge�and maybe some left over lamb from when I made dinner the other night. I SO miss being home! Perhaps getting back to my nice strict diet will help me feel like less of a mass(ive?) consumer.

So it is finally rolling around to my favorite time of year again. Fall�it is the best. I dunno how to describe it really�but it smells right. The leaves turning�the cooler weather�crisp clear sky�the chill night (which makes for FANTASTIC sleeping). I dunno how to describe it�but I can tell ya that it has me missing Tech something fierce. Fall was always the best down there. Guess I am going to have to go down there soon for a visit so that I can get my fall fix.

Work is pretty much the same ole same ole. I should find out this week or early next if we won the bid on the contract that I have been working on for the last year and a half. I am torn between hoping that we do and that we don�t. On one side�better the enemy that you know�but on the other, I would really like a change of pace. I know that I could stay on the project and just jump to a different Company. Funny�but I guess it pays to be an expert in a field. And what with me having more experience working with and training this application than anyone else in the world�I guess that puts me up near the top of the list. Wow�it is so weird to think of it in that way�Right now though I am faced with regular monotony interspersed with little emergency after little emergency. It makes for very long and boring days at work�but I can finally see the light at the end of the tunnel (deployment world wide of the app) so that makes it a tad more bearable. I just would like to be doing again as oppose to sitting around waiting (for something to happen�or break�or whatever).

Well I guess that I have prattled on for long enough�about a whole lot of nothing. Perhaps (if something inspires me) I will write more this week.

Till then�

What have you learned lately?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com