Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2004-09-13 - 2:38 p.m.

Things have been�well kinda slow?

I am not really sure what other way to put it. But that is how I always feel right before my birthday.

Here I am about to turn 34. And where am I? Living in an apartment in a part of Virginia I swore I would never go back to. I have a fair job�but nothing to really write home about. And I think what might be worst of all�I am with out a family of my own (Yes I have family�my folks and relatives and what not�and I am grateful that I can still share my life with them�but that is not what I am talking about). Heh�Who would have thought that my buddy Paul would be the one with the mortgage and the kids and all the bullshit that goes with it. Where as I am�well�bah. I had my chance I guess�and I managed to fuck it up. I should be happy for what I have really�I know that things are better for me than for many folks out there�I just can�t help but feel like so far I have failed. At what you ask? Heh�that�s the kicker�I am not sure. Guess it is just the beginnings of the Holidays blues getting an early start this year or something. Bah fuck it. On to something that I have managed to do�

This last weekend saw me meet yet another cycling goal. Purcellville and back. All in all this was less mileage than the Herndon and back run but it was MUCH hillier. 25 miles and I knocked it out in just under 2 hours. Hmm�that means that at the moment I am on track for an 8 hours century�hehe yeah right�But the ride was a good one, and I am looking forward to riding today after work. Funny thing is I was less sore�and less tired after the hilly ride that I was after the other ride. Perhaps the weather had something to do with it. The Herndon trip was wet and bordering on cold. I took yesterday off to watch football with my Uncle�which was plenty of fun�so I am happy about getting back in the saddle again today.

That brings me to a serious issue that I am now beginning to encounter. The issue of bikes. The Great Blue Giant is beginning to cause me some problems. The fact that it is too big coupled with it�s gearing being all wrong (I should be riding a triple not a double) and then throw in all the creaks and clicks and groans of an old bike and you get one unhappy/frustrated bear when I am out riding. I know that I should be happy with what I have. I know that buying a new bike is not a priority�especially one that is going to cost me 1k�but I can�t help but think that things would be so much better�more enjoyable�more�well just more. I just can�t see ponying up the $$$ for a bike.

I have Friday off! I decided that this Friday would be the day I took off for my birthday. And how an I going to spend the time? Well by all accounts I will be wet cold and miserable. I am headed home to pick up a motorcycle from there I am planning on driving the 3 hours to a friends place to spend the weekend. Problem is the remnants of Ivan should be rolling through Va at that time. Lucky me. Oh well�it will be good to have a bike again�and I am sure that there will be plenty of nice riding days still left this fall. Some times you just have to pay to play right?

Well that is about it for me today. I have things that I should be doing.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com