Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2006-08-22 - 6:47 p.m.

There seem to be major changes going on in the bear's world of late...at least I think that is what I am trying to make happen.

Raptors: I am finally to the point where I am so not happy with the majority of what I have been doing here in NoVA hell that I found myself going back to doing something that I think I remember liking. Or at least going back to doing something that reminds me of a happier time.

10 years ago...hell longer than that really...more like 12 or 13, I found myself vol. at the local wildlife rehab center. Stuff happened there...heh, not even really sure what is real and what is bullshit memories that I made up...but I do remember that I liked doing it. I remember it being a pretty good time in my life.

Yesterday was my first day at the Raptor Conservancy. I think that I am looking for those better days once again. It was great to be around those birds again. There really is something special about being in a flight cage alone with 3 great horned owls...a bird that the vast majority of people will only ever see on tv. To have them fly past you...hell to be graced with being only feet away from them...well hell...it is really something special. I missed that I think. The really neat thing is...folks are willing to let me learn as much as I want here...do as much as I want...hell...who knows. Perhaps one day I will know enough that I can actually help these birds and not just feed them...and clean up after em. That would be very cool...very cool indeed. I am glad that I found this place. I have been spending too much time trying to find ways to distract myself that are non-productive. Now at least I am doing something worth a damn.

Races: First time to the AMA races down in Danville...it was pretty cool. I was happy to get to spend the time with the Uncle. That is always a good time. If you have never seen a real superbike race...all I can say is Wow...perhaps nascar fans are not so crazy...though I would get WAY bored by the oval.

Fast bikes: I signed the papers today on the new bike. It will be good to be back on two wheels again..though I have to admit...the bike I bought scares me a little bit. It is a CBR1000RR. Made by Honda. It weighs in at 383 pounds, can do a 1/4 mile in 9.8 seconds at 147mph, does 0-60 in under 3 seconds and will do 60-100 in around 5...has a top speed of over 190mph...and puts down 150hp at the rear wheel...That is more hp at the rear than many cars out there now...

This bike scares me to death...

And yet I suspect that within a year, I will think it is kinda slow. Heh...what is wrong with people?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com