Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2004-08-09 - 10:25 a.m.

Down right sore today�Not like oh my god I can�t walk sore�but more like �man my quads are still feeling yesterdays ride� sore. HOT DAMN! That means that I am finally getting the point where my heart will let me push my legs harder. Now is where the real progress begins.

Yesterday was my day for a long ride�and long ride it was. I spun down the path towards Ashburn again�remember the ride last Monday that killed me? Well I did it again yesterday�only I added 2 miles to it. Yup 17 miles baby�and this time I not only did it in less time than on Monday�but I spun faster also. 25 miles is my mark�that is my regular riding goal�and once I can log those kind of miles 5 times a week�I can start looking to improving things like my over all speed and what not. I can hardly wait. I am thinking that I will be doing 25 miles by the end of August easily�that is if I can keep up this current rate of improvement. We shall see of course. I still need to be careful not to hit that overtraining mark.

In other good news�I have finally shown some reduction in weight. According to the scale I am 5# down from last week. Thank god�I was beginning to think that I wasn�t going to drop anything. I know that�s crap but when you are tryin to loose weight, your mind comes up with all sorts of stupid ideas.

Oh and I think that I may have found a temporary answer to the Dino-bike woes. On Saturday I swung by the local thrift store to drop off some clothes and lo and behold�there was an older Giant Road bike sitting there. It was in rough condition�but the important parts were still there. Good frame, good stem, and wide enough bars. So�I am thinking that I should be able to cannibalize the Dino-bike and this one to make something that I actually fit on and is a bit more of a joy to ride. Well at least till I get my Lemond. Which I might add I am still planning on doing. Good equipment is always important to have when training. And ya know�that is what this is becoming. Training. Training for a leaner body�training for a century ride...training for who knows what else.

I have also decided to let my hair grow back out. I have run into a few problems with being bald and riding. First sun + bald head = Fuckin ow! So we try Sunblock + bald head + sweat + eyes = Fuckin ow! So I am thinking that if I just let my hair grow out again I won�t have much in the way of sunburn problems for at least a little longer.

So funny how almost everything revolves around cycling these days�do you think it is some sort of unhealthy obsession like my co-workers believe? I wonder�But ya know�if obsessing gets me into shape then obsess I will. It is not like I have any type of responsibilities to anyone other than to pay my bills and go to work. So fuck it�if I spend all my time thinking about cycling�or getting out and actually wearing out tires on the road why should I care. As long as I am meeting my basic obligations it shouldn�t matter right? Yeah it means that cycling is most likely going to replace the SCA for me�at least for a little while�but right now I enjoy riding�and I can�t really say that about eventing. Don�t get me wrong�I love being around the folks in the SCA that I call friend�but I don�t think that I have to use the SCA anymore to get to spend time with em�at least I hope not. Not that I am going to cut out eventing all together�but I think that most of my weekends are going to be spent spinning along the back roads of Virginia�and getting to know new folks (Heh�just think�in another week or two, I will be comfortable enough with my riding to go out and ride with the local bike club. Hehe�I can hardly wait).

Well I guess this leaves me with one tough decision for today�do I take a short ride after work today�or do I take the day off. Hmm Decisions decisions..

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com