Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2003-04-08 - 8:20 p.m.

Good morning world...

It is a beautiful clear day here in SF land. I can see he Bridge, the mountains, and the bay...and OH GOD...tthe freak in the next house over that likes to jerk off in front of the window. Lets hope that he doesn�t see me or anyone else for that matter...cause he likes to play with himself with an audience. Geez...gotta love this place eh?

So anyhow...I just got back from my morning walk to the top (well almost to the top...I have yet to make it all the way to the top) of Buena Vista park. I am hoping that by next week the top of the park will be mine, and by the end of next month, the entire hike will be nothing more than a pleasent walk...as opposed to the coronary inducing struggle that it is now. Ahhh...I wish I gould describe this place to ya. It is simply beautiful, with some stunning views. Perhaps if I get my Pop�s camera to sync up with the computer I will post pictures of all my wanderings.

So I only have 2 jobs today. One is to go by the comic shop and pick up this weeks reads...and the other is to get out and get some exercise. Yeah the hike to the top of Mt. ass kicker was just the warm up for m day...woo hoo. So I think that I am going to wander my happy little (Yeah don�t I wish) ass down to China town, brave a possible SARS infection (joking...there is no sign of SARS down there yet), and see if I can manage to NOT spend too much money. I would like to get a few decorations for my room up country though. Perhaps just one maybe...I dunno. If nothing else, it will be a nice walk on a beautiul day.

So lets see if I can give yall a better idea of how the last week went up country.

I arrived there during a snow storm, and while I thought it was beautiful...the parental unit was very annoyed by it. I guess that it did put a damper on getting some of the outside things done. Oh well...

The next day was spent building saw horses and visiting folks on the hill...and yeah it was still raining/snowing. The visiting was wonderful though. I got to see a handful of folks that I met last year and get this...it was as if I hadn�t left. Man what a wonderful bunch of folks.

Day 3 saw us building more saw horses and getting the green house ready for planting. We has plastic that needed to get pulled, tables that needed settng up, and best of all...weeds that needed torching! Yeah...My pop actually owns a FLAME THROWER! and I got to use it. No really...an honest to god flame thower. Granted it doesn�t have the range or the stick factor that many of the Military models have but hey...I�m not complaining. It is better than pulling the weeds by hand!

Then day four saw me planting seeds for the garden. I guess I started a bout 4 diffrent kinds of cucumbers, a bunch of peppers (several of which I think have a heat level comparable to hell), some flowers, herbs, and hmmm a whole buch of other stuff. Yeah there is a BIG ole garden up country. I am hoping that many of the little seeds will have germinated by the time we get back up there on Friday. won�t that be exciting! (I am SUCH a Hort geek ain�t I) Then afer working all day it was off to Klaus and Elizabeth�s for dinner. They are the hill�s resident Germans...accent and everything (In fact Elizabeth was a German refugee who fled to Hungary as a little girl during WW2)...but if you ask them...they are all American! Well back to the story...We go there for dinner (remember...I am trying HARD to loose weight!) and what am I surprised with? A wonderful salad with FRESH HOMADE blue cheese dressing, the BEST chicken cordon blu I have ever had...and the MOTHER OF ALL german cheese cakes! Oh My God! But in all fairness, the food was FANTASTIC, and I enjoied every last bit of it. No sense in punishing myself just cause I am tring to drop some pounds right?

Then day five the weather broke. I woke up to 50 degrees and climbing...and sun. Finally we could get outside and do a little work! Ugh...and that little bit of work KICKED MY ASS! The Pop and I spent the day cutting wood for next winter. NOw normally this would be no big deal but all in to the mix a gazillion HUGE fir limbs that needed to be drug up hill o the cutting area. Striping the branches off these 15 and 20 limbs by hand (my poor hands!) and then stacking a metric ton of little pieces of wood...well when it wsa all done, you had a very tired...grumpy bear. I think that I have more cuts, scratches, abrasions, and holes in me than I have ever had at any one time before. BAH! But I have to keep the big picture in mind...it IS good for me or something...and I am sure that this work will get easier as time goes by...I hope.

Oh yeah...and scattered in there among all of this other stuff...I have been cleaning the barn out (Several wood rats had made their homes in there) getting it ready for setting up a forge. Ahhh...the sooner that I get my forge up and running...the happier I will be. It will give me something to do...and escape from the monotony of work work work up there...a chance to get away from everyone and just do my own thing...that no one else understands.

And then of course day six I drove home...

So that is is so far. Pretty exciting eh? yeah whatever...but I am happy and that is all that matters right now.

Take care all...

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com