Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2003-04-01 - 12:17 a.m.

Good morning world...

Day one of my 8 month stay in San Francisco, and I have already found one thing that is frustrating the crap out of me. It is this damned computer that I am forced to use. Yeah I know that I should be more than happy that I actually have a computer at my disposal...but why oh why did it have to be a Mac? I know...there are many of you out there that seem to think that these things are far superior to the Microsoft slave PC...but when that is what you are used to...the Mac can be REALLY frustrating to use. It is similar enough to fool you into thinking that you understand how it works...and then kablooie! You find yourself cussing the stupid thing cause all you want is to run a word processing program...Bah. Oh well, I guess that I will eventually figure this thing out. It can�t be that hard after all...my Pop has managed to figure it out, and technology is not his strongest suite.

So I woke up this morning at a very reasonable 6:30 am and was greeted with some very lovely weather. It is COLD here...cold and damp. I think that things were a balmy 45 degrees when I pulled my self out of bed. Now normally you would think that 45 degrees is no big deal...but here in SF, or at least in my pop�s place there is no insulation in the house...and the heat set to make sure that the house does not dip below 45 degrees...so what that basically means is that at the moment, it is damn cold here. Now add to that the wind, and the damp and you are left with ick...

I guess I am willing to pay that price to have a view of the Golden Gate bridge from the living room.

Looks like today is going to be fairly mundane for me. At some point I am going to need to wander myself down the Haight and locate the �Mysterious Hardware Store� that my pop has been talking about. I have to go and get some dupe keys made for the house and all. At some point today, we are supposed to head over to Costco as well. The Truck needs new tires...a very important thing to have when you spend time up country where good tires can really make the difference between getting where you need to go and having to walk. Then after that, it is off to Oakland to pick up my bed. It looks like I am going to be living downstairs. I am going to be sharing the flat with a friend of my Pop�s who has just gotten out of a long term relationship...in fact it is one of her spare beds that is going to become mine. Heh...I guess I get to meet my roomie later on today...here�s hoping that we get along fine.

I am thinking that I am going to have to see about finding myself a comic store as well. I am not sure I am ready to go all cold turkey on my comic collecting and stuff. Granted I am going to see about cutting back on alot of the titles that I have been following.

Oh and hey...yall will like this no doubt. I walk into the house and what is the first thing that I see sitting in the living room of the house? Yall will never guess, so I reckon that I ought to tell ya...Sitting there by the big picture window is a HUGE stuffed Black Bear. How ironic? Is it an omen or something? Enh...who knows.

Well I reckon that I had best see to wrapping things up...

More to come later...

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

powered by SignMyGuestbook.com